Kevin Drew Announces Solo Album “Darlings”

KEVIN DREW From 'Broken Social Scene' Announces New Solo Album "Darlings" the album comes Out on 3/18, via Arts And Crafts. The first single is "Good Sex".

Broken Social Scene’s founder, songwriter, and front man Kevin Drew will be releasing his newest solo album, Darlings, on March 18th, 2014, on Arts & Crafts. The album’s first single, “Good Sex,” can be heard now – above.

Darlings shows Drew growing from his role in Broken Social Scene to create a  statement of personal artistry. Darlings is also his first solo album that is truly, to put it bluntly, solo. If Drew’s 2007 effort Spirit If… was his inaugural step beyond the decade-long shadow of his former band, Darlings spotlights Drew with seven years more experience and maturity.

This isn’t to say these aren’t classic Kevin Drew songs. His unorthodox lyrical explorations of family, hope and disappointment, skin and spit, intercourse, cultural infection and the death of communication, figure clearer than ever into the hallmark of his infectious melodic phrasing. Darlings is a fist-pumping fight for the euphoria of the after-party and the crush of pre-dawn passions. It’s a best friend’s zealous pep talk to not give up, and bring youth back into the fresh focus of life. On Darlings, Kevin Drew casts reflective inspiration forward into the brightness of the future with a soundtrack to kick everything into high gear.

Darlings features longtime collaborators Charles Spearin and Ohad Benchetrit (Do Make Say Think, Broken Social Scene) along with Dean Stone (Apostle of Hustle) and Dave Hamelin (The Stills). Darlings was co-produced by Dave Hamelin, Kevin Drew and Graham Lessard.

Darlings track listing:
1. Body Butter
2. Good Sex
3. It’s Cool
4. Mexican Aftershow Party
5. You Gotta Feel It
6. First In Line
7. Bullshit Ballad
8. My God
9. You In Your Were
10. You Got Caught
11. And That’s All I Know

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.