“Jumper” by Courting

Courting have shared a new single titled “Jumper”. The track follows their recent return with details of their  debut album Guitar Music, which drops on September 23, 2022 via Play It Again Sam. This new track follows recent singles “Loaded” and “Tennis”. The track was produced by James Dring (Gorillaz, Sorry, Lana Del Rey, Blur).

Speaking on the new single, frontman Murphy-O’Neill says, “Jumper is an outlier on the album. It is a gentle story of true unrequited love, meant to play out like a 2006 romcom. It is about growing old and believing everything will fall into place, the mundanity of doing dishes, and leaving oppositional film reviews.”

The band describe Jumper as their “pop girl moment”, having previously written a song that references Charli xcx and say that it “possesses the kind of instrumentation that should be able to pay off the bands student loans.”

Going on to speak on the album Murphy-O’Neill says:

“Guitar Music is realizing you actually love the music you hated when you were 13. It is lip fillers and being thousands of pounds in debt. It is missing mundane things about your childhood and mourning celebrities you were only aware of posthumously. It is dancing with your friends. It is falling in love with a drawing and it is always online. It is touching toes in bed, hearts carved into trees. It is swimming outside and listening to pop smoke. It is fireworks over family parks

Guitar Music is the opposite of our early releases in that it is very emotional. The stories told may be from the perspective of other characters at times, but these songs are filled with actual emotion rather than us trying to hide.

We felt that Guitar Music as a phrase was reductive and therefore decided to create a record with the intention of it being a body of work that could redeem being a “guitar band”, by pushing it to different boundaries. To us, this record is a statement piece, it felt very exciting to make, to us, it feels a lot more special than we’d originally expected it would be.”

Guitar Music
track listing
Play It Again Sam

1. Cosplay/Twin Cities
2. Tennis
3. Loaded
4. Famous
5. Crass (redux)
6. Jumper
7. Uncanny Valley Forever
8. PDA

Courting 2022 Tour Dates

20 – VARMA ! Festival – France
26 – Reading Festival
27 – Leeds Festival

7 – Musicbox, Lisbon – Portugal
8 – Hard Club, Porto – Portugal
9 – Sale Brazil, Coimbra – Portugal
17 – Wide Eyed, Leicester
20 – Sneaky Petes, Edinburgh
21 – King Tuts, Glasgow
23 – The Cluny, Newcastle
24 – The Key Club, Leeds
25 – Polar Bear Music Club, Hull
27 – The Fulford Arms, York
28 – Sidney & Matilda, Sheffield
29 – The Sugarmill, Stoke
30 – Arts Club, Liverpool

1 – Neighbourhood Festival, Manchester
4 – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
5 – The Exchange, Bristol
6 – Cavern, Exeter
7 – The Junction, Plymouth
8 – The Anvil, Bournemouth
11 – The Joiners, Southampton
12 – O2 Academy, Oxford
13 – Facebar, Reading
14 – The Boileroom, Guilford
15 – The Green Door Store, Brighton
17 – The Forum, Tunbridge Wells
18 – The Portland Arms, Cambridge
19 – MOTH Club, London
21 – Bedford Esquires, Bedford
22 – KU Bar, Stockton on Tees
23 – The Boulevard, Wigan

pre order Guitar Music by Courting HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.