Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker detail new LP

Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker share details of new album 'Overnight.'

British duo Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker will release their debut album for Rough Trade, Overnight, on October 14th, 2016. They’ll also be playing their first run of North American tour dates in September. Produced by Clarke and Walker, Overnight follows up their Rough Trade debut, the ‘Through The Clouds’ EP, which was released earlier this year

Overnight features panoramic orchestration by an eclectic core of acclaimed musicians, including strings, horns, piano, double bass, and drums. The twelve songs – ten originals and two covers – recorded almost entirely live at renowned Rockfield Studios in Wales – serve as a snapshot of the endless cycle of night into day and back again, morning light, into dusk, into black midnight, into greying dawn, and on, and on.

The album’s lilting first single, “The Waning Crescent,” is almost an answer in ballad form to the portrayal of the moon in traditional and popular music as a soothing, confessional, companion (i.e. “Blue Moon”). Coming at the darkest and stillest point in the album, the song – like the moon – brings a reassuring lightness.

Clarke explains, “I started to think about if I was the moon, what I might think and feel, and what the moon might sing back,” adding, “I’ve given it a slightly whiny, self-pitying quality because it’s whimsical and a bit funny.” Listen here:

Though Clarke and Walker’s previous work is very much steeped in the the folk tradition. Overnight draws just as much inspiration from more-straightforward 1970s AM radio rock like Fleetwood Mac or Neil Young as they do from folk-rockers like Fairport Convention or Joni Mitchell.

Overnight Track List:

01. Nine Times Along
02. Something Familiar
03. Sweet The Sorrow
04. Dawn Of The Dark
05. Dark Turn Of Mind (Gillian Welch cover)
06. Weep You No More Sad Fountains (traditional English ballad)
07. The Light Of His Lamp
08. Sleep
09. Milk and Honey
10. The Waning Crescent
11. Overnight
12. Light Of Day

Tour Dates:

09/07 Boston MA @ Club Passim
09/08 New York NY @ Rockwood Hall – Stage 3
09/09 New York NY @ Rockwood Hall – Stage 3
09/10 Philadelphia PA @ Tin Angel
09/13 Toronto ON @ The Dakota
09/16 Bloomington IN @ Lotus World Music & ArtsFestival
09/17 Chicago IL @ Hungry Brain
09/18 Milwaukee WI @ Colectivo Back Room
09/19 Minneapolis MN @ Turf Club