John Maus releases a Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material.

On July 17th/16th, Ribbon Music will release on behalf of John Maus, throughout the world, a sixteen-song collection of music spanning eleven years of creative output, titled A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material.

Of the sixteen songs showcased, five: “This is the Beat,” “Castles in the Grave,” “Bennington,” “My Hatred is Magnificent,” and “No Title (Molly),” have appeared on previous compilations. Most notably “No Title (Molly)” was originally released on a flexi disc as part of Domino/Ribbon Music’s Record Store Day release Smugglers Way. Two songs: “Angel of the Night” and “Lost” have never been released on any format, nor across any media. The same can not be said of the remaining nine songs, the majority of which initially appeared on Demos 2011, a bundle of tracks originating from where they had been uploaded by their creator (John Maus) to be appreciated, if not reviewed, by those eager enough to search them out.

Listen to and download “Mental Breakdown” here.

Devout fans may notice a few of the ‘demos’ from this period are not represented on the album. The answer to this is simple: “Some of the songs are in fact just that – DEMOS. Better left ‘unreleased,’ you know what I’m saying?!” – John Maus.

A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material has been entirely remixed and remastered and features artwork and design by Turner Prize winning artist Wolfgang Tillmans. It will be available on CD, limited edition LP, and digital formats July 17th in North America and July 16th throughout the rest of the world.

The LP version of the album will be limited to a one time pressing of 3000 hand numbered copies.In addition, 500 copies of the release will be issued on translucent pink vinyl and made available exclusively through the Ribbon Mart.


1. North Star (2008)
2. The Law (2003)
3. Castles in the Grave (2010)
4. Angel of the Night (2010)
5. Mental Breakdown (2004)
6. Bennington (2007)
7. Big Dumb Man (2003)
8. No Title (Molly) (2008)
9. Lost (2003)
10. All Aboard (2007)
11. This is The Beat (2005)
12. My Hatred is Magnificent (2008)
13. The Fear (2003)
14. Fish With Broken Dreams (1999)
15. Rock the Bone (2008)
16. I Don’t Eat Human Beings (2008)

John Maus will also be playing a handful of live shows around the world this summer. See below for dates:

06-15 Toronto, ONT – Lee’s Palace (NXNE)
07-12 New York, NY – Pier 84 (River Rocks Series) *
07-20-22 Seattle, WA – Capitol Hill Block Party
08-09 Oslo, Norway – Oya Festival
08-10 Gothenburg, Sweden – Way Out West Festival

* w/ Dan Deacon

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.