The Jesus And Mary Chain announce new album

The Jesus And Mary Chain announce new album 'Damage and Joy'. The LP comes out March 24th on ADA/Warner

The Jesus And Mary Chain are set to release their new album Damage and Joy on March 24th on ADA / Warner Music. The album is their first since Munki was released backed in the summer of 1998.

Fronted by the Reid brothers Jim and William, The Jesus And Mary Chain first reformed to play the Coachella festival back in 2007. Despite regular touring – most notably a 2015 world tour which revisited their landmark album ‘Psychocandy’ – it took some time before they could agree on a plan to record a much-mooted seventh album.

“We started to – can you believe? – listen to each other a bit more,” explains Jim. “In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other. Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”

Work on ‘Damage and Joy’ (a reference to the English translation of schadenfreude) began in September 2015, with producer Youth also contributing bass and diplomacy to proceedings during sessions in London, Dublin and Granada, Spain. Alan McGee first confirmed that a new JAMC album was on the way by telling Canada’s CBC Music: “They’ve made another album! It’s a big deal! It’s kinda enormous.”

The album also features performances from the band’s touring drummer Brian Young as well as former Lush bassist Phil King.

“The interesting thing about this record is what comes out of the speakers,” declares Jim. “To make a good record is an achievement if you’re twenty-two, but to do it in your fifties, the way we are, I think is a minor miracle.”

Damage and Joy
The Jesus and Mary Chain
tracklisting –

1. Amputation
2. War On Peace
3. All Things Pass
4. Always Sad
5. Songs For A Secret
6. The Two Of Us
7. Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)
8. Mood Rider
9. Presedici (Et Chapaquiditch)
10. Get On Home
11. Facing Up To The Facts
12. Simian Split
13. Black And Blues
14. Can’t Stop The Rock

The Jesus and Mary Chain will embark upon a UK tour to coincide with the album’s release. The touring line-up is completed by Scott Von Ryper (guitar), Mark Crozer (bass) and Brian Young (drums). The dates are:


23rd – Newcastle, Northumbria University
25th – Manchester, Academy
27th – Leeds, Church
28th – Leicester, O2 Academy
29th – Bristol, O2 Academy
31st – Birmingham, O2 Institute


1st – Bournemouth, O2 Academy
2nd – Oxford, O2 Academy
3rd – Cambridge, Junction
5th – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
6th – Bexhill-on-Sea, De La Warr Pavilion

The Jesus and Mary Chain are also about to commence a short North American tour which culminates at the Day For Night Festival in Houston on December 17th.