Jehnny Beth Releases New Single “Innocence”

Jehnny Beth shares new single/video “Innocence.” The track is off the multi-artist's forthcoming release To Love Is To Live out June 12 on Arts & Crafts
Jehnny Beth “Innocence” video/single

Multi-artist Jehnny Beth (Savages) has released “Innocence.” The track is her forthcoming album, To Love Is To Live, due out June 12, via Arts & Crafts/Caroline Records . “Innocence” is about the feeling of isolation and distance Jehnny Beth has experienced many times in big cities despite being so close to people all the time. Although recorded well before this, in many ways, it is an eerily prescient song of our now. The album, which was recorded in Los Angeles, London, and Paris, features a number of collaborators, including producers Flood, Atticus Ross, and longtime co-creator Johnny Hostile, and guest turns from The xx’s Romy Madley Croft, actor Cillian Murphy, and IDLES’ Joe Talbot. The release of “Innocence” is accompanied by a live video of the song filmed at rehearsal for Jehnny Beth’s incendiary live show

In addition to releasing To Love Is To Live this June, Jehnny Beth will also be releasing Crimes Against Love Memories (C.A.L.M.), her first book featuring a collection of her erotic short stories along with photography from Johnny Hostile, in July 2020 via White Rabbit. The book is a collaboration with longtime creative partner Johnny Hostile, whose photographs punctuate Jehnny Beth’s stories. C.A.L.M. looks set to establish Jehnny Beth and Johnny Hostile as two of the bravest and most provocative voices in fiction and erotic art today.

Jehnny Beth
To Love Is To Live
Arts & Crafts/Caroline Records

01 I Am
02 Innocence
03 Flower
04 We Will Sin Together
05 A Place Above
06 I’m The Man
07 The Rooms
08 Heroine
09 How Could You
10 French Countryside
11 Human

Best known as the charismatic lead singer and co-writer of UK band Savages, who received Mercury Prize nominations for both of their now-classic two albums Silence Yourself (2013) and Adore Life (2016), Jehnny Beth’s voice, lyrical perspective, and incredible live performances have captivated audiences since the early Aughts. But it’s in To Love Is To Live that Jehnny Beth truly steps into – and claims – the spotlight. The album is a sonic tour de force, a dark cinematic meditation on the strange business of being alive. Throughout the record, she explores the deepest reaches of her creative consciousness…wrapped in a whirlwind of sounds. Indeed, in accessing those darkest and least comfortable parts of herself, Jehnny Beth has created a piece of work that is stunningly cathartic, fiercely abrasive, delicately exposed, and rich for discourse.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.