Jamie xx Collaborates With Robyn On “LIFE”

Jamie XX Collaborates With Robyn On new single “LIFE.” The track is off Jamie XX's forthcoming album In Waves, out September 20th via Young
Jamie xx by Alasdair McLellan, Robyn by Liz Collins

Jamie xx today has dropped the latest single from his forthcoming album In Waves, A collaboration with Robyn on her first major new release since 2018’s Honey, “Life.” Jamie has also announced a second hometown show at London’s Alexandra Palace on 25th September after the previously-announced date on 26th September sold out in an instant. The shows will be preceded by a summer of huge stage- headlining festival appearances at the likes of Glastonbury, HARD Summer, in addition to Miami’s III Points festival in October (18-19th).

Speaking about the track Jamie says:

“I made this track pretty fast (for me) and I loved it from day one. When I first heard Robyn’s vocal it was at 6am after finishing playing at Pacha in Ibiza, it was the perfect moment. Robyn and I have spent time working together and hanging out for some years now, it’s always a joy and always inspiring, I’m so glad and grateful that she is a part of In Waves. Thank you Robyn for bringing this track to life!”

“Life” is the latest in a line of crossover dancefloor anthems from “In Waves”. In April, Jamie released “Baddy On The Floor”, his joyous summer collaboration with Honey Dijon before heralding news of the album in June with the riotous “Treat Each Other Right” single; a muscular breakbeat anthem-meets-futuristic soul burner that was accompanied by a much-talked about video from photographer and filmmaker Rosie Marks. Across the album’s 12 tracks, which arrives nearly a decade after his debut album In Colour, collaborators includes The Avalanches, Kelsey Lu, John Glacier and Panda Bear, Oona Doherty and his The xx bandmates Romy and Oliver Sim. Created over a four year period ushered in by his 2020 Essential Mix, and created with periods of self-reflection, a global pandemic.

Jamie previewed the album across his already-legendary The Floor residency which took place at South East London’s Venue MOT from 16-25 May. The series of intimate, 300-capacity events saw him perform at ten consecutive parties alongside a secret, personally-curated lineup of collaborators and friends who weren’t announced until the night itself. The bespoke club space was graced by the likes of 2ManyDJs, Cooly G, Romy, Charli XCX and George Daniel, MJ Cole, Daphni, Nick Léon, DJ Python, Jockstrap, Doc Scott, John Glacier and more for ten nights of exclusive new music, secret appearances, one-off back-to-backs, and midweek and weekend hedonism.

Jamie xx
In Waves

1. Wanna
2. Treat Each Other Right
3. Waited All Night (ft. Romy & Oliver Sim)
4. Baddy On The Floor (ft. Honey Dijon)
5. Dafodil (ft. Kelsey Lu, John Glacier & Panda Bear)
6. Still Summer
7. Life (ft. Robyn)
8. The Feeling I Get From You
9. Breather
10. All You Children (ft. The Avalanches)
11. Every Single Weekend (Interlude)
12. Falling Together (ft. Oona Doherty)

Deluxe LP Bonus 12” Package
1. F U (ft. Erykah Badu)
2. It's So Good
3. Do Something

Order tickets for Jamie xx HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.