“I’ve Got Reason” Mikal Cronin

Merge recording artist Mikal Cronin, recently released a video for “I’ve Got Reason.” The track is off his current release Seeker. The track follows, previous releases “Shelter” and the lead single, “Show Me.” “I’ve Got Reason” is one of the heaviest songs on the album, crashing with weighty guitar and percussion. “This song runs through a mess of confusing interactions in a world that gets stranger all the time,” says Cronin. “Musically it’s got some Beatles and some Nirvana, with a bendy mellotron line that helps tie the worlds together.” The accompanying visuals, created by Daniel Murphy, features live footage shot by Cronin.

Following heartbreak and writer’s block, Cronin spent a month in Idyllwild, a small town in the mountains of southern California, where he wrote the bulk of Seeker over a month-long period. Returning to Los Angeles after a series of fires sparked by an arsonist forced him to evacuate, he began the recording process at Palmetto Studios. There, engineer Jason Quever and a crew of close friends helped bring the album together. The record was backed by Ty Segall’s Freedom Band. Nature fresh on his mind, he was driven to use organic sounds. “I wanted to bring you into the room. Jason and I talked about the Beatles’ White Album a lot when placing mics,” says Cronin. “I brought a charred pine cone from the woods to the studio, just in case it would help. Fire—specifically its cycle of purging and reseeding the landscape—is a central theme to the record. Death and rebirth.”

Mikal Cronin
Live Dates

Mon. Feb. 10 – Munich, DE @ Milla
Tue. Feb. 11 – Cologne, DE @ Bumann & SOHN
Wed. Feb. 12 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Thu. Feb. 13 – Aarhus, DK @ TAPE
Fri. Feb. 14 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Sat. Feb. 15 – Stockholm, SE @ Nalen
Mon. Feb. 17 – Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds
Tue. Feb. 18 – Gothenburg, SE @ Oceanen
Wed. Feb. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow (SkyBar)
Thu. Feb. 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Fri. Feb. 21 – Brussels, NE @ Botanique
Sat. Feb. 22 – Paris, FR @ Petit Bain
Mon. Feb. 24 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Tue. Feb. 25 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Wed. Feb. 26 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Thu. Feb. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug & Pint
Fri. Feb. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. Feb. 29 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope & Ruin