“Ingenue” by Jono McCleery

"Ingenue" by Jono McCleery (Atoms For Peace) cover, is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
"Ingenue" by Jono McCleery

UK singer/songwriter, Jono McCleery has returned to Counter Records – the imprint that released his 2011 album “There Is” – in sparkling form with a stunning version of the Atoms For Peace song “Ingenue”.

With the incredible living and breathing harmonium (reed organ) played by Steve Pringle (Michael Kiwanuka) at its foundation, Jono’s vocal performance was recorded in one take with additional percussion and bass by Dan See (Jamie Woon / Nick Mulvey) and Milo Fitzpatrick (Portico Quartet) respectively. Tim Rowkins, the producer with whom Jono worked on “Pagodes”, stitched everything together.

“The chorus melody was the first thing that hit me about this track, and was instantly stuck in my head all day long… in a good way”, Jono laughs. “Then as I began to learn the song the lyrics became more symbolic, particularly the lyric ‘Seeds of a dandelion blow away’ – the notion of letting go, and the idea that hope is fragile”.

Synkro – the acclaimed British producer who has consistently impressed with releases on R&S sister label Apollo, Exit Records and alongside Indigo as Akkord on Fabric’s Houndstooth imprint – steps up on remix duties. His re-interpretation clicks and creaks, bolstered by shifting sub bass and cloaked in a grainy soft focus that recalls Burial at his blunted best circa 2007.

Jono honed his craft on the London live circuit and touring with the One Taste Collective alongside the likes of Little Dragon, Jamie Woon, Nick Mulvey, Portico Quartet and Kate Tempest. In 2015 he collaborated with Portico on their album “Living Fields” and with Maribou State on their debut “Portraits”, before releasing his third album “Pagodes”.

Jono McCleery
Tour Dates:

08 Nov – Bird (w/ Portico Quartet) – Rotterdam, NL *
28 Nov – Archspace – London, UK **
29 Nov – Archspace – London, UK **
30 Nov – The Goods Shed – Stroud, UK **
01 Dec – Leftbank – Bristol, UK **

* Solo
** Band