“I Won’t” By Jacques Greene

"I Won't" by Jacques Greene is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is of his release ANTH01, Out October 22nd via LuckyMe
"I Won't" by Jacques Greene is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Jacques Greene, releases ANTH01, a collection of tracks and out-of-print 12”’s spanning the earliest years of his career. Arriving ten years after his first single, “Another Girl,” ANTH01 features tracks that introduced Greene to the world, such as “The Look,” and also includes collaborations with Koreless and How To Dress Well, plus tracks from Greene’s releases on 3024, Night Slugs and his own Vase imprint. In conjunction with today’s announcement, Greene shares “I Won’t,” one of two exclusive, previously unreleased tracks to appear on ANTH01.

Greene has been making music “about the club” for over a decade. Over the course of multiple EPs, singles, and two full-length albums – 2017’s Feel Infinite and 2019’s Dawn Chorus – his sound has developed into an emotional haze. Outside of his own releases, Greene has explored his relationship with the club in a variety of contexts, from remixing Radiohead to producing for Katy B, Tinashe and touring with The xx.

From Jacques Greene:

“Time became quite slippery in the past year and a half,” says Greene. “As the years go it’s strange how some things feel like just yesterday while others are seemingly lifetimes away. It was equal parts challenging and fun to revisit some of this material that laid the foundation for this Jacques Greene project. ‘ANTH01’ is a form of anthology: a collection of songs meant to tell the first few chapters of that story. From bedroom studios in the Mile End in Montreal at the start of the 2010s to now. Thank you for listening.”

Jacques Greene

01. I Won’t
02. (Baby I Don’t Know) What you Want
03. The Look
04. Tell Me
05. These Days
06. Arrow (feat. Koreless)
07. Ready
08. Faded
09. On Your Side (feat. How To Dress Well)
10. Faithful
11. Quicksand
12. Another Girl

Pre-order ANTH01 HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.