Hurt Valley Shares Details Of New Album

Hurt Valley shares details of Glacial Pace
Hurt Valley 'Glacial Pace'

Brian Collins AKA: Hurt Valley, makes loosely psychedelic, often rollicking songs that feel like they came from a simpler time, before you realize that the simpler time you’re thinking about never really existed in the first place, and you’re just romanticizing a past that was as complicated as the present. Hurt Valley’s forthcoming release Glacial Place comes out on December 6, via Woodsist.

All this is to say that Collins makes songs that sound like they’re ripped from a forgotten private press record from decades gone but imbued with the weight of right now. Glacial Pace opener “Geology Dreamer” is anthemic and sad, an end-of-the-night (or, let’s face it, end of the world) jam that crumbles under lyrics about love and (healthy) obsession and getting through shit with people you love and trust.

The last track on the album, “Immaterial Worlds” acts as a mirror image to the opener. Where “Geology Dreamer” hits hard and woozy, “Immaterial Worlds” is soft and intricate, a nakedly contemplative end to an album that sneaks up on you no matter where you might be when you hear it.

Hurt Valley
Glacial Place
Track List

1. Geology Dreamer
2. Apartment Houses
3. Bothers
4. Live In To It
5. Be The Lighthouse
6. Del Amo
7. I’ve Been Everywhere
8. Keepsake Ruin
9. No Meaning
10. Immaterial Worlds