“Human Replacement” By Billie Marten

Billie Marten’s forthcoming release Flora Fauna arrives on May 21, 2021 via IMPERIAL/Fiction Records. Today, the singer/songwriter has shared a new video for album single “Human Replacement.” Flora Fauna was recorded with Rich Cooper (Temper Trap, BANKS, Logic) in London.

The “Human Replacement” video was directed by the award winning creative Joe Wheatley. Marten explains: “This video is absolutely needed to match the message of the song, which was initially something I shied away from talking about. As creative discussions began between Joe Wheatley (Director) and I it became incredibly important to convey the absurdity of simply not being able to go out anywhere at night as a woman particularly, without that hideous stone-cold fear of what might happen to you. Hence every woman in the video needing the comfort and protection of full army gear to carry out the simplest of everyday tasks (like going for a run or walking home from work) and every man is without it. My trusty safety tank gets me to the shop for a pint of milk. It’s a deliberately absurd illustration of a disturbingly real problem that needed to be addressed.”

Billie Marten
Flora Fauna
IMPERIAL/Fiction Records

1. Garden Of Eden
2. Creature of Mine
3. Human Replacement
4. Liquid Love
5. Heaven
6. Ruin
7. Pigeon
8. Kill The Clown
9. Walnut
10. Aquarium


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.