“Horses” by Brodka

After the recent news of her debut English LP Clashes, due out May 13th on Play It Again Sam, Polish alt/pop wonder Brodka has unveiled the darkly dystopian video for her new single “Horses”.

Of the video, Monika Brodka says: “It’s about transformation and spiritual metamorphose: mechanical horses, glorifying of metal and cars, an escape into an imaginary world”.

Having already released three albums in her native Poland, including 2010’s Granda, Clashes will mark her first release in English.

“I am a car-crash girl…”, resounds the opening line of lead single “Horses”, referencing Kim Gordon’s description of Courtney Love in her autobiography and hinting at Brodka’s musical and artistic interests. Despite the rich textures present on the record, she is as equally influenced by New York no wave, jazz and R&B. Additionally, her early experiences of church services have heavily impacted the depth and melodrama that charges throughout Clashes.

This interest in religion and spirituality has also influenced the visual themes running throughout her artwork, photography and ornate sense of style. “For this album the big inspiration was liturgical outfits,” she explains. “I wanted to take the colors – silver, gold, white, purple, blue – and the shapes of some of these clothes and turn them into something more modern. I am always trying to take some of the meanings of the subjects that I am interested in, chew them up, digest them, and throw up something that is more my kind of thing.”

Brodka Clashes Tracklisting:

1. Mirror Mirror

2. Horses

3. Santa Muerte

4. Can’t Wait For War

5. Holy Holes

6. Haiti

7. Funeral

8. Up In The Hill

9. My Name Is Youth

10. Kyrie

11. Hamlet

12. Dreamstreamextreme


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.