Holy Ghost! Announce Album ‘Work For Hire’

Holy Ghost! Announce New Album "Work For Hire" The Quintessential remixes

Brooklyn-based electronic duo Holy Ghost! announce Work For Hire,  a collection of the band’s favorite remixes from it’s extensive catalogue out May 5h (self released).

Known for their  remix work as well as original recordings, Work For Hire traces the Holy Ghost! legacy from the early DFA days through to today, showcasing the band’s (aka Alex Frankel & Nick Millhiser) sonic evolution, penchant for cross-genre collaboration, and studio-prowess.

“Letting our remixes go has always been kind of hard,” explains Alex.  “We labor over them for weeks, often reproducing every element of the song from drums to vocals, and really try to give them as much life and love as we would an original song.

To see them all here, done over so many years but now in one comprehensive collection, side by side, is amazing. It’s also kind of like looking at our own musical timeline. You can hear us developing as producers, having fun, experimenting, and – above all else – working.  This album is a scrapbook of our work and time together.”

Featuring  remixes from the band’s catalogue in sequential order from 2007 – present, Work For Hire includes standout Holy Ghost! remixes for MGMT, Cut Copy, Moby, Phoenix, LCD Soundsystem, & RAC among many more. Three brand new remixes complete the package – a new remix for Hannie El Khatib’s “Two Brothers” is revealed today, plus new remixes for Katy Perry’s “Unconditionally”  and Jose Gonzales’ “Let It Carry You close out the stellar collection of mixes.

To support the release the band will also head out on a series of North American DJ dates, which will see them spinning ALL VINYL.

Holy Ghost! is Brooklyn-based electronic music duo Alex Frankel and Nick Millhiser. In addition to its extensive remix work, the duo has released two original albums; the self-titled debut album (2011) and its sophomore follow-up Dynamics (2013).

Work For Hire Tracklist
(**never released)

1. Panthers – Goblin City (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2007)
2. Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2007)
3. MGMT – Of Moons, Birds, and Monsters (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
4. In Flagranti – Business Acumen (Holy Ghost! Cover Version) (2008)
5. Moby – I Like to Move in Here (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
6. Only Fools and Horses – Spectacle Wins (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
7. They Came from the Stars I Saw Them – Moon Song (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2008)
8. Phoenix – Lisztomania (Holy Ghost! Loves Paris Remix) (2009)
9. Curses – The Deep End (Holy Ghost! Day School Dub) (2009)
10. LCD Soundsystem – Drunk Girls (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2010)
11. Black Van – Moments of Excellence (Holy Ghost! Version) (2011)
12. Midnight Magic – Drop Me a Line (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
13. Moby – Blue Moon (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
14. Monarchy – Love Get Out of My Way (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2011)
15. DataRock – The Pretender (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2012)
16. RAC – Let Go (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2013)
17. Blood Orange – You’re Not Good Enough (Holy Ghost! Bootleg) (2013)
18. Katy Perry – Unconditionally (Holy Ghost! Balearic Dub) (2013)**
19. Hanni El Khatib – Two Brothers (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2015)**
20. Jose Gonzales – Let it Carry You (Holy Ghost! Remix) (2015)**

5/7 Brooklyn, NY – Verboten
5/8 Philadelphia, PA – The Dolphin
5/9 Washington DC – U Street Music Hall
5/15 Dallas TX – It’ll Do Club
5/16 Austin TX – Kingdom
+ more TBA

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.