Helado Negro Shares “Ya No Estoy Aquí”

Helado Negro has released the new single "Ya No Estoy Aquí," the new single is accompanied by a video directed by Neuderts
Helado Negro has released the new single "Ya No Estoy Aquí"

Helado Negro has released the new single “Ya No Estoy Aquí,” the new single is accompanied by a video directed by Neuderts. The song is off his current release for 4AD Far In, which dropped last year. “‘Ya No Estoy Aquí’ is a song about loneliness and alienation,” Roberto Carlos Lange shares. “It’s about being lost within yourself and not knowing who you are. Making this song was catharsis; it was a way to get this all out and feel the texture of new perspectives.”

The song’s title was inspired by the independent film ‘Ya No Estoy Aquí.’ “This movie moved me in ways that nothing else has moved in a long time,” Roberto explains. “It is about a young man from Monterrey, Mexico, who gets into trouble and is forced to leave for his safety to New York. The language barrier, the cultural isolation, and his characteristics spiral him more towards his loneliness and isolation. Music was his only solace. Songs that he would dance to by himself and disappear into the memory of being somewhere else with the people he missed and loved.”

Far In is Helado Negro’s first album on 4AD and the seventh full-length album in his catalogue. “Escape is never out there, you have to go inward,” Roberto reflects on developing an epic Helado Negro double album during these extraordinary times, embracing the dark of the unknown with openness, pleasure, and growth. Throughout Roberto’s career, imagined beings, ghosts and haunted machines appear in sci-fi stories and his own conjuring. On Far In, Roberto says he “celebrates the ghosts,” embracing pleasure and freedom to follow the metaphysical further. Next week, Helado Negro will launch an extensive world tour with 30+ dates across the U.S. and Europe. Roberto and his partner, the visual artist Kristi Sword recently returned to Marfa for  Kite Symphony , a multidisciplinary exhibition which opened in January. The project features a newly commissioned film, outdoor composition, installation, and a special Earth Day performance on April 22, 2022. Sound is the throughline between these diverse elements of this long-term project.

Helado Negro 2022 Tour Dates

22 April – MARFA, TX, Ballroom Marfa (Kite Symphony performance)
26 April – ATLANTA, GA, Terminal West
27 April – NASHVILLE, TN, Basement East
28 April – DURHAM, NC, MotorCo
29 April – ASHEVILLE, NC, Grey Eagle
1 May – PHILADELPHIA, PA, Underground Arts
2 May – BOSTON, MA, Brighton Music Hall
4 May – WASHINGTON, DC, 9:30 Club
5 May – BROOKLYN, NY, Brooklyn Steel
9 May – CHICAGO, IL, Thalia Hall
10 May – MINNEAPOLIS, MN, Fine Line
13 May – PORTLAND, OR, Old Church *early show added*
13 May – PORTLAND, OR, Old Church
15 May – SAN JOSE, CA, The Ritz
16 May – SAN FRANCISCO, CA, August Hall
17 May – LOS ANGELES, CA, Regent
18 May – POMONA, CA, Glass House
20 May – TUCSON, AZ, Club Congress Plaza
21 May – SANTA FE, NM, Meow Wolf
23 May – DALLAS, TX, Granada
24 May – HOUSTON, TX, White Oak Main Room
25 May – AUSTIN, TX, Mohawk
31 May – LONDON, GB, EartH
1 June – MANCHESTER, GB, Now Wave
2 June – BRISTOL, GB, Trinity
3 June – BARCELONA, ES, Primavera Sound Festival
4 June – ZURICH, CH, Theater Moods
9 June – BERLIN, DE, Frannz Club
10 June – MANNHEIM, DE, Maifeld Derby
11 June – PORTO, PT, Primavera Sound Festival

Order “Ya No Estoy” by Helado Negro HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.