“Heat” By Whispering Sons

"Heat" by Whispering Sons is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the band's forthcoming release Several Others
"Heat" by Whispering Sons

Whispering Sons have shared the single “Heat,” the track follows the recent announcement of their forthcoming release Several Others, available June 18, 2021 via PIAS.

“Heat” was inspired by film noir classic ‘Night and the City’, guitarist Kobe Lijnen was captivated by the imagery of fast movement contrasting with confrontation. This is reflected by the very direct verses opposed to the grander and wider sounding choruses. ‘Heat’ was one of the first songs to be written for the new album, but one of the last to be finished. The theme of confrontation became central to the lyrics, resulting in a candid and straightforward song.

Several Others marks Whispering Sons first full-length release since their 2018 debut “Image”, which saw them garner early support at press and radio as well as tallying up millions of streams for their dark and unique blend of experimental and frenetic post-punk. Similarly, prior to lockdown, their infamously ferocious live shows had also seen them begin to firmly cement themselves as a must-see live band playing alongside the likes of The Murder Capital, Patti Smith, The Soft Moon and Croatian Amor.

Having retreated to the Ardennes last summer to work on the new material, the band took the strongest parts of their earlier work and refined them even further with a strong focus on their greatest strength – sheer, unpretentious intensity. Whispering Sons have constantly outstripped their own expectations. With every momentous step forward that they take, they redraw the boundaries of what they consider possible then duly go beyond them yet again.

Whispering Sons
Several Others

1. Dead End
2. Heat
3. (I Leave You) Wounded
4. Vision
5. Screens
6. Flood
7. Surface
8. Aftermath
9. Satantango
10. Surgery

“Several Others” is out June 18th via [PIAS] Pre-order HERE