“Headlights” by Vök

"Headlights" by Vök is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
"Headlights" by Vök is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Icelandic group Vök recently released their brand-new self-titled album Vök, which dropped on September 23, 2022 via Nettwerk Records. The band preceded the album with recent single Headlights, which followed recent singles Illuminating, Miss Confidence, Lose Control and Stadium alongside their EP Feeding on a Tragedy. Recorded in their Reykjavík studios, the EP was the follow-up to their acclaimed 2019 album In the Dark, which was written and recorded by the band in collaboration with producer James Earp (Bipolar Sunshine, Fickle Friends, Lewis Capaldi).

Their new album was self-produced by Margrét and Einar in Iceland, mastered by Glenn Schick (Phoebe Bridgers, Future) and mixed by David Wrench (Arlo Parks, Sampha) and Friðfinnur Oculus.

Track list
Nettwerk Records

1. Intro
2. Something Bad
3. No Coffee at the Funeral
4. Cold
5. Lose Control
6. Headlights
7. Skin
8. Stadium
9. Illuminating
10. Miss Confidence
11. Lost In The Weekend
12. Running Wild

Margrét says; “Making this this album was like riding a rollercoaster, it usually is. But with every album you learn so much new about yourself and for me this album was like good therapy. I’ve never dived so deep into my past and the old emotions that I’ve never taken care of. Losing someone is also a big life lesson, it pulls you to the ground and all of the sudden you feel how fragile life actually is so you become more thankful for each day. Loving is the most wonderful thing and to be able to love who you want really should not be an issue, I mean common. So Einar, Bergur and I are super happy to get this album into the cosmos and move on to the next adventures.

Prder Vök by Vök HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.