“Half Colored Hair” Black Belt Eagle Scout

“Loss & Relax” by Black Belt Eagle Scout, is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
“Loss & Relax” by Black Belt Eagle Scout

Katherine Paul, AKA: Black Belt Eagle Scout current release Loss & Relax b/w Half Colored Hair 7” is now out via Saddle Creek. Today, Paul has shared the track “Loss & Relax”. The song is an ode to Paul’s ancestors, past, present, and future, and informed by the experience of traveling home. It was first written in Anacortes following the recording of 2018’s Mother of My Children when Paul was particularly full of emotion and pride. The song was held off Mother of My Children for further exploration and continued to evolve as it was performed live by various members of Paul’s band.

As described by Paul: “As I was writing the guitar line, I kept seeing the water of the Salish Sea and the local ferries drifting people in and out of place. Ferries are such a beautiful part of my childhood and served as a major form of transportation. Thinking about my home and how canoes have turned into ferries is a sad, but also beautiful thought. Nowadays with Canoe Journeys, canoes are alongside ferries, roaming our waters to lands, sharing customs and culture. That is what I think about now when I listen to the fully recorded version of the song. I see a strong and fierce community of my people continuing to thrive in whatever comes our way. That is how I feel about myself, a survivor and thriver of this land, a water protector, a womxn, the future.”

The record’s B-side, “Half Colored Hair”, is a love song that explores the preciousness of moments we share with others. Together, the two songs display the next-step in what Black Belt Eagle Scout first instigated last year on Mother of My Children, while also providing an intriguing glimpse into what we have to look forward to in the years to come.

Black Belt Eagle Scout
Tour Dates

Sun. April 28 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Tue. April 30 – Washington, DC @ DC9 *
Wed. May 1 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter *
Thu. May 2 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle – Back Room *
Thu. May 3 – Charlotte, NC @ Snug Harbor *
Sat. May 4 – Atlanta, GA @ 529 Club *
Mon. May 6 – Nashville, TN @ Third Man Records *
Tue. May 7 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Wed. May 8 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s *
Thu. May 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *
Fri. May 10 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge *
Sat. May 11 – Kansas City, MO @ recordBar *
Mon. May 13 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *
Tue. May 14 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge *
Fri. May 17 – Vancouver, BC @ The Fox Cabaret *
Sat. May 18 – Everett, WA @ Fisherman’s Village Music Festival *
Sat. May 18 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *
Sun. May 19 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *
Tue. May 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall *
Wed. May 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy *
Thu. May 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *
Mon. June 3 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada *
Tue. June 4 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda *
Wed. June 5 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *
Thu. June 6 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa *
Thu. Aug. 1 – Sun. Aug. 4 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

# = w/ Disq
^ = w/ Lala Lala
*= w/ Julia Jacklin