Guided by Voices announce new album

Guided by Voices announce new album 'Please be Honest'.

“Robert Pollard wrote and recorded and played all the instruments on Please Be Honest and when he finished it felt to him like a Guided By Voices record. He’s not wrong. The songs are compact and tuneful, the playing expertly slack, the production raw and unpolished: sounds pretty much like every review of Bee Thousand.

Robert Pollard is Guided By Voices. This has never not been true, certainly, and is now more true than ever. He delights in confounding expectations, and you have to at least suspect that after over twenty-years of making records under any number of pseudonyms, of which Guided By Voices is just one, and maybe not even his favorite one, he chafes at the notion that there exists some Platonic ideal of “Guided By Voices” that isn’t just Bob writing and recording the songs with whatever musicians he wants to use. Guided By Voices’ new live line-up reflects not just a possibly subconscious desire to prove that unalterable fact, but fits with Pollard’s unchanging changeability. He does what he wants. He is who he is. The only “classic lineup” that has ever mattered is singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist/band leader/magician/thunderstorm Robert Pollard.

01. My Zodiac Companion
02. Kid On A Ladder
03. Come On Mr. Christian
04. The Grasshopper Eater
05. Glittering Parliaments
06. The Caterpillar Workforce
07. Sad Baby Eyes
08. The Quickers Arrive
09. Hotel X (Big Soap)
10. I Think A Telescope
11. Please Be Honest
12. Nightmare Jamboree
13. Unfinished Business
14. Defeatist’s Lament
15. Eye Shop Heaven

04.26 – Cannery Ballroom – Nashville, TN
04.27 – The Ready Room – St. Louis, MO
04.29 – Vega – Lincoln, NE
04.30 – Summit Music Hall – Denver, CO
05.02 – The Bottleneck – Lawrence, KS
05.03 – The Accord – Champaign, IL
06.25 – Sled Island Festival – Calgary, AB

Listen to new single “My Zodiac Companion” here