Gruff Rhys Debuts “I Want My Old Life Back”

Gruff Rhys Debuts new visualizer for "I Want My Old Life Back." The track is off the soundtrack “The Almond & the Seahorse”
Gruff Rhys Debuts new visualizer for "I Want My Old Life Back." The track is off the soundtrack “The Almond & the Seahorse”

Gruff Rhys has shared two songs from The Almond & The Seahorse soundtrack, “I want My Old Life Back” & “Liberate Me From the Love Song”. The album drops on February 24, 2023 via Rough Trade Records.

Gruff say’s about both songs “I Want My Old Life Back is featured in a tense domestic scene in the film as the character’s lives have been turned upside down by the trauma of injury. I actually wrote the song after my van got nearly totalled in early 2020 during a flash flood on the A1 at 3am after a gig. I was stranded in a pub for three days as I waited for it to be fixed, like my own personal lockdown a few weeks before the big one when the song seemed to make even more sense. It’s a very straight up live band track that features Kliph Scurlock on drums, Osian Gwynedd on piano, Stephen Black on bass and string arrangements by Gruff ab Arwel – recorded by Ali Chant and mixed by Llion Robertson.

“I recorded Liberate Me From The Love Song at Kris Jenkins studio Wings For Jesus  in Cardiff, with some keyboards and drum machines. I made some more refined versions that were used in the film but this early rough version captures the song better. The song itself is the result of listening to too much (or not enough) Outlaw Country music but doesn’t really sound like it. It’s probably the most noticeable song in the film – a couple are going through an amicable but difficult period of change and this is the soundtrack (whilst they’re eating chips on the beach).”

The 22-track album comprises original songs and instrumental score, all composed by Gruff Rhys. Recorded between 2021-2022 with a host of featured musicians, the music features throughout the forthcoming film of the same name, starring Charlotte Gainsbourg, Rebel Wilson and Celyn Jones.

Gruff Rhys
The Almond & the Seahorse
Rough Trade Records

1. I Want My Old Life Back
2. Liberate Me From the Love Song
3. Layer Upon Layer
4. Orea
5. Amen – single version
6. Love Love Love
7. People Are Pissed
8. Arogaldarth

pre-order The Almond & the Seahorse HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.