“Gorgeous” slowthai

"Gorgeous" by slowthai is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
"Gorgeous" by slowthai

Tyron Frampton AKA: slowthai, has announced the details of his forthcoming release Nothing Great About Britain, the album is due for release on May 17th via True Panther Records/Method Records. Ahead of the release, slowthai has shared the single “Gorgeous.”

slowthai knew the title of his album long before he wrote a single bar of it. He knew he wanted the record to speak candidly about his upbringing on the council estates of Northampton, and for it to advocate for community in a country increasingly mired in fear and insularity. Three years since the phrase first appeared in his breakout track ‘Jiggle’, Tyron Frampton presents his incendiary debut Nothing Great About Britain.

slowthai on Nothing Great About Britain:

“It’s basically my experience of growing up [in the UK]; of having a family that were immigrants originally, of the stories they’ve told me, of my childhood and how I’ve lived my life. Through it, I’ve gone on a journey of explaining how everything I was chasing to make me feel good only clouded my judgement. And it took me going through a ton of shit to realize that none of these things – no money, no drugs, no fake relationships – is gonna make me happy, or make me a good person.”

Nothing Great About Britain includes production led by Kwes Darko, with Mura Masa and Slaves on singles “Doorman” and “Missing,” and also features Jaykae (“Grow Up”) and Skepta (“Inglorious.”).

Nothing Great About Britain
True Panther Records/Method Records

1. Nothing Great About Britain
2. Doorman
3. Dead Leaves
4. Gorgeous
5. Crack
6. Grow Up feat. Jaykae
7. Inglorious feat. Skepta
8. Toaster
9. Peace of Mind
10. Missing
11. Northampton’s Child