Godflesh Detail New LP, Share New Song

Godflesh detail New Lp A World Lit Only By Fire out on October 7th on Avalanche recordings share new song new dark ages
Godflesh Detail New LP

Industrial metal innovators Godflesh have announced the details of their  full length album A World Lit Only By Fire, set for an October 7 release on their own Avalanche Recordings label. The album arrives on the heels of June’s Decline And Fall EP, which had effortless synthesis of the duo’s fan favored early albums, groundbreaking genre experiments that pioneered an integration of electronic music’s bombastic rhythms, metal’s bludgeoning force, and post punk’s aural atmospherics. Whereas the new EP succeeded by fulfilling listener expectations, the full length exceeds them; delivering a full force exploration of the furthest boundaries of Godflesh’s extreme sonics, and then pushing beyond them, detailing the rich musical experience accrued in the dozen year span and countless musical projects (JesuFinalVitriol,GreymachineTechno Animal, etc.) between recordings.

The duo, comprised of the legendary talents of Justin Broadrick (also of JesuJK FleshTechno AnimalPale Sketcher, and more) and GC Green, formed in 1988 in Birmingham, UK. Initially disbanding in 2002, the band resumed live performances in 2010 and began the arduous work of crafting a follow up to 2001’s Hymns. The resultant self-recorded ten song set mounts the thin line between high definition clarity and raw, visceral heaviness, inducing a meditative state via seething minimalism that hinges on ritualistic riff repetition and the tenuous membrane between anxiety-inducing dissonance and cathartic minor key melody.


 1. New Dark Ages

2. Deadend

3. Shut Me Down

4. Life Giver Life Taker

5. Obeyed

6. Curse Us All

7. Carrion

8. Imperator

9. Towers of Emptiness

10. Forgive Our Fathers


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.