Glasser remixes Bouquet’s “Stacks On Stacks”

Glasser remixes Bouquet's "Stacks On Stacks," debut EP 'In A Dream' out now.

Bouquet, the minimalist duo recently released their debut EP In a Dream. The tracks on the EP offers a look into Bouquet’s uncanny universe – where analog drum machines pulsate like footsteps. Guitar and synthesizer blend and divide as Carolyn Pennypacker Riggs’ ether-filled vocals float above, combined with Max Foreman’s deep vocals. This week the album track “Stacks On Stacks” gets remixed by fellow electronic minimalist Glasser.

Half of the In A Dream 10″ records pressed will be on black vinyl and the other half on white vinyl. The record was mixed by producer Cole Marsden Greif-Neill (Julia Holter, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Beck).

Formed in Los Angeles, Bouquet set forth with a vision of pop songwriting combined with a minimal palette of analog electronic sounds. Both members originally hail from the San Francisco Bay Area, where guitarist Carolyn Pennypacker Riggs fronted the folk-pop outfit The Finches, while also working as a visual artist. Keyboardist Max Foreman has a background in experimental composition, and cofounded the instrumental trio Tenebre. The two have joined their technical and creative approaches to music-making, along with visual elements – including prints, sculptural objects, and projections – by Pennypacker Riggs.

Since 2013, Bouquet has gained increasing attention for their live performances supporting acts such as Zola Jesus, Geneva Jacuzzi, Ariel Pink, EMA, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Sonny and the Sunsets, Lori Goldston (Nirvana), Nite Jewel, and Mt. Eerie; playing at The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; Night Court at Art Basel Miami; and All Tomorrow’s Parties Festival in the UK, curated by TV on the Radio.

In A Dream
[Ulrike / Folktale Records]
Release Date: March 31, 2015

1. In A Dream
2. Stacks On Stacks
3. Come To Your House
4. Over Mountains
5. Falling

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.