“Get Sun” By Hiatus Kaiyote

Melbourne-based group Hiatus Kaiyote, recently released their album, Mood Valiant. The LP is available via Brainfeeder Records/Ninja Tune, and came together after six years during which the band spent time touring, writing and recording, culminating in a 2019 trip to Rio de Janeiro that led them to work with legendary Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai.

Alongside the album release, Hiatus Kaiyote are also sharing the video for the aforementioned “Get Sun.” Featuring Verocai, the song came together during a session in Australia’s Byron Bay, though Nai Palm had largely written the song before the band formed in 2011.The video, an absurdist sci-fi trip, matches the buoyant energy of the track.

Director Grey Ghost (Jeremy Koren) notes about the concept behind the video:

“The ‘Get Sun’ video is a wild and wonky space journey inspired by Red Dwarf, The Young Ones, Mighty Boosh & Le Voyage dans la Lune. The band came to me with a huge idea that featured them attempting to get to the sun by various DIY methods, so we met up to chat over the concept and next minute we had a goddamn giant beast to create…I wanted it to look shitty and beautiful all in one, to be stoopid and breathtaking and to take you on a strange journey into the warped imagination of one of the dopest living bands.”

Nai Palm added about filming “Get Sun”, “I have never laughed more on set, ever. I’m usually pretty camera shy, but everything about this video was a joy to make. Jeremy was the ultimate legend, and all hands on deck were super loverly and creative. Can’t wait to share it and make more weird nerd art visuals for people to see. Also, it’s not everyday you get to ride a velociraptor in space.”

Hiatus Kaiyote is Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums). Mood Valiant, is the follow up to their 2015 album Choose Your Weapon. The album comes after being sampled on songs by The Carters (Beyonce & Jay-Z), Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak, Chance The Rapper, and Drake—with whom Nai Palm also collaborated with on his Scorpion album.

Hiatus Kaiyote
Mood Valiant
Brainfeeder Records / Ninja Tune

1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
2. Sip Into Something Soft
3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
4. And We Go Gentle
5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai)
6. All The Words We Don’t Say
7. Hush Rattle
8. Rose Water
9. Red Room
10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
11. Stone Or Lavender
12. Blood And Marrow