GABI Streams Debut LP ‘Sympathy’ Out 4/7

GABI has Streamed her Debut LP 'Sympathy' in it's entirety, Out 4/7 On Software Recording Co.

GABI, New York composer and vocalist, Gabrielle Herbst has streamed her debut LP Sympathy, you can listen to the full album below.

Herbst began her formal training at an early age, studying Balinese dance and gamelan in Indonesia while learning both the clarinet and piano. She continued her training at Bard College where she studied voice and composition under the tutelage of Joan Tower, Zeena Parkins and Marina Rosenfeld. Her work has already been showcased at Robert Wilson’s Watermill Center, as well as Roulette, who commissioned and premiered her first opera, Bodiless, in 2014.

Herbst’s experience writing for chamber orchestra and mixed instrumentation inspired her to develop a repertoire of short-form, vocal-centric compositions under the name GABI. These were driven by solitary explorations in early 2013 with a dual-track loop pedal. The nine songs composed for Sympathy embrace the vast potential of the human voice as instrument, story, and landscape.

GABI was joined in the studio by long-time collaborators Matthew O’Koren (percussion), Rick Quantz (viola), Josh Henderson (violin), and Aaron Roche (electric guitar / trombone) to create Sympathy. With Lopatin and Corley continuing their production involvement, these open-ended sessions yielded a suite of compositions that capture Gabrielle’s metamorphosis into GABI via an intimate exploration along the edges of song-form.


1. Koo Koo
2. Da Void
3. Love Song
4. Mud
5. Falling
6. Where
7. Fleece
8. Home
9. Hymn

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.