Future Islands share video for “Say Goodbye”

Future Islands share video for "Say Goodbye"
Future Islands photo by Frank Hamilton

Ahead of the release of their new album People Who Aren’t There Anymore, which drops on January 26th via 4AD Future Islands shared another new song, “Say Goodbye”. The song is an examination of a long distance relationship unravelling, with Samuel T. Herring crooning. “When I don’t wanna say goodnight / And every day without you Feels one closer to goodbye / I just need to make this world seem right / You just sleep tight, til I’m on your side.”

Future Islands have announced tour dates in Latin America for March 2024, playing shows in Mexico, Peru and Columbia’s Estereo Picnic Festival. See full list of tour dates below.

“Say Goodbye” follows previously released songs ‘The Fight,’ ‘Deep in the Night’, “King of Sweden” and “Peach”. Recently, the band shared ‘The Tower,” alongside a video directed by Jonathan van Tulleken (Top Boy, Shogun). This marks the second project Van Tulleken and Herring have worked on together following Apple TV’s The Changeling, whose first season aired this fall.

Future Islands is Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming) and Michael Lowry (drums). People Who Aren’t There Anymore was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright. It was mixed by Wright and Chris Coady, who hasn’t worked with the band since 2014’s Singles.

Future Islands
People Who Aren’t There Anymore

1. King of Sweden
2. The Tower
3. Deep In The Night
4. Say Goodbye
5. Give Me The Ghost Back
6. Corner Of My Eye
7. The Thief
8. Iris
9. The Fight
10. Peach
11. The Sickness
12. The Garden Wheel

Future Islands 2024 Tour Dates

16 March – GUADALAJARA, MEXICO, Teatro Studio
17 March – MEXICO CITY, MEXICO, Vive Latino Festival
19 March – LIMA, PERU, Centro de Covenciones Barranco
21-24 March – BOGOTA, COLUMBIA, Estereo Picnic Festival
23-26 May – SOUTH DERBYSHIRE, UK, Catton Hall and Gardens
25 May – LEEDS, UK, Live at Leeds in the Park
1-4 August – WATERFORD, IRELAND, All Together Now

Pre-order The People Who Aren’t There Any More by Future Islands HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.