Future Islands Debut ‘The Fight”

Future Islands have today shared "The Fight", the track is off the band's forthcoming album, People Who Aren’t There Anymore
Future Islands photo by Frank Hamilton

Future Islands have today shared “The Fight”, the track is off the band’s forthcoming album, People Who Aren’t There Anymore, available January 26th 2024 via 4AD. Recently, the band shared ‘The Tower’, alongside a video directed by Jonathan van Tulleken (Top Boy, Shogun). This marks the second project Van Tulleken and Herring have worked on together following Apple TV’s The Changeling, whose first season aired this fall.

The track, a synth-based groove, lead singer Sam Herring vies for self-preservation via his trademark impassioned vocals: “I won’t fade away / I will face
every day / As if it’s my last one / And I will keep you safe / Just like our past was /Fight for love every day.”

Future Islands is Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming) and Michael Lowry (drums). People Who Aren’t There Anymore is the band’s seventh album and was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright. It was mixed by Wright and Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Blonde Redhead, Tv On The Radio).

Future Islands
People Who Aren’t There Anymore

1. King of Sweden
2. The Tower
3. Deep In The Night
4. Say Goodbye
5. Give Me The Ghost Back
6. Corner Of My Eye
7. The Thief
8. Iris
9. The Fight
10. Peach
11. The Sickness
12. The Garden Wheel

Future Islands 2024 Tour Dates

16 March – GUADALAJARA, MEXICO, Teatro Studio
17 March – MEXICO CITY, MEXICO, Vive Latino Festival
19 March – LIMA, PERU, Centro de Covenciones Barranco
21 March – BOGOTA, COLUMBIA, Estereo Picnic Festival

Pre-order People Who Aren’t There Anymore by Future Islands HERE. The album will be available digitally, on CD and cassette, and on standard back vinyl, transparent vinyl (indie retail only), and yellow & black ‘yolk’ vinyl with alternative artwork (4AD/D2C Exclusive).


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.