Future Elevators announce new album

Future Elevators announce new self-titled album, out February 19th via Communicating Vessels.

Born out of an ever-growing scene, Birmingham, Alabama’s Future Elevators will release their self-titled debut album on February 19th via Communicating Vessels. The album was produced by Lynn Bridges and Mixed by Darrell Thorp (Radiohead’s Hail to the Thief, Beck’s Morning Phase). Today, the band is sharing the first taste of their forthcoming album with “Modern World.” Frontman Michael Shackelford found inspiration watching old episodes of Carl Sagan’s legendary documentary Cosmos: A Personal Voyage. The celestial visual, planets spinning in space, and clusters of stars imploding inspired the song’s zero-gravity groove. It’s a space jam powered by a roomy dub beat and shimmery indie-pop synths, making “Modern World” an apt introduction to Future Elevators’ anything-goes aesthetic.

Shackelford talks about “Alabama Song”, “That first part sounded like a song on its own, but I had this other piece of music that seemed like it fit perfectly. I wanted to deviate from a traditional arrangement, but I didn’t want to do it just for the sake of shifting gears.”
Instead, “Alabama Song” is all the more poignant for taking such a risk. “I was thinking about being a dad now and having a baby girl. I have to remind myself to like in the moment and enjoy where I am, to take a minute to realize that everything is okay for this moment. That’s why I named it ‘Alabama Song.’ It felt like home to me.”

Shackelford grew up in a musical family. His grandfather ran a music school in Birmingham, his Uncle played guitar for The Temptations, and his mother performed on a local television variety show in the 70’s and 80’s. He spent most of his early year’s as the drummer in his grandfather’s country and western band, where he did the VFW tour of the South. Growing up, he found his way into just about every band playing in Birmingham and finally arrived at the vision for his own project- Future Elevators. The self-titled 10-track LP will be released on vinyl, CD and digitally on February 19th.

Future Elevators – Track Listing
1. Rome On A Saturday
2. Modern World
3. Losing Sleep
4. Just Another Day
5. Alabama Song
6. Machine Maker
7. It Is What It Is
8. Everything Everywhere End
9. Narcosis
10. Aphrodite

Tour Dates
Nov 28 – Martin’s – Jackson, MS
Nov 29 – Rojo – Birmingham, AL
Dec 04 – Dude Ranch – Oxford, MS
Dec 12 – Best Friend Bar – Lexington, KY
Dec 18 – Alchemy Tavern – Mobile, AL
Dec 19 – Sluggo’s – Pensacola, FL
Jan 15 – Thirsty Hippo’s – Hattiesburg, MS
Jan 16 – Gasa Gasa – New Orleans, LA
Jan 29 – ACME – Nashville, TN
Feb 05 – The Sanctuary – Montgomery, AL