“Friendship (Acoustic)” by mmeadows

NYC-based progressive pop duo mmeadows shared the Light Moves Around You: Reworks EP, a collection of stripped-down recordings and remixes by Porches, Generationals, Hrishikesh Hirway, Salt Cathedral, Bayonne, and Tōth of songs from their debut album released earlier this year. In celebration, they’ve also shared a video for “Friendship (Acoustic).” This new version stretches the original’s ethereal, gentle lilt further, allowing it to climax with a blistered and spiky guitar solo courtesy of Okkervil River’s Will Graefe. mmeadows will also be playing a NYC show at Union Pool on November 29 with Aubrey Haddard.

mmeadows shares: “Playing ‘Friendship’ live on tour over the past year has been one of our favorite moments of any given night — the mood becomes quiet and intimate and time slows down. That feeling amplified when we invited our friend Will Graefe to sit in on acoustic while we were on tour supporting Will Sheff. Graefe honored the song gorgeously while introducing some of his own chordal and timbral ideas and an incredible solo. When the tour concluded we knew we had to record the live version. We did three full takes, the three of us in our living room, and used the first one — it has a certain magic.”

Light Moves Around You: Reworks Tracklist:
1. Friendship (Acoustic)
2. Circling Down (Salt Cathedral Remix)
3. You Should Know By Now (Porches Remix)
4. By Design (Hrishikesh Hirway Remix)
5. Fall Asleep (Toth Remix)
6. You Should Know By Now (Acoustic)
7. Circling Down (Bayonne Remix)
8. Baby-By (Generationals Remix)

Stream Light Moves Around You: Reworks HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.