Fortuna POP and Slumberland stream ‘Drift’ EP

Fortuna POP and Slumberland, stream 'Continental Drift'

Four bands, two great labels, and two continents meet on this mini-LP. Slumberland Records and Fortuna POP! team up to bring you Continental Drift, an eight song sampler of some of the label’s talent.

Baltimore’s Wildhoney have been making music together since 2011, forging a fresh sound from raw materials of shoegaze, punk and good old indiepop. 2015 saw the release of their debut LP and follow-up EP, and now they’ve contributed two tunes for this compilation.

East London’s Tigercats jangly, pop nods to their punk roots and spikes the pop punch with anthemic choruses and massive, crunching guitars.

Philadelphia’s Mercury Girls, Featuring members of Literature, Little Big League and Pet Milk, Mercury Girls have a layered sound that combines post-punk dynamics with soaring/jangling guitars, fantastic melodies and expertly-arranged tunes.

Edinburgh, Scotland’s The Spook School are surely the most *fun* band taking-on issues of gender and identity today, writing queer-pop anthems that are noisy, tuneful, sharply-observed and outrageously catchy. Citing influences as varied as T-Rex, C86 and Buzzcocks, they tell stories that are as multi-faceted and complex as modern life and sexuality itself, but also universal in their optimism. The title of their recent album “Try To Be Hopeful” sums it up well.

Mini-LP – Various Artists
Limited edition blue-inside-white coloured vinyl LP / Gatefold CD

1. Mercury Girls – Holly
2. The Spook School – Sometimes I Hide From Everybody
3. Wildhoney – Horror Movie
4. Tigercats – Sidney Street
5. The Spook School – Gone Home
6. Mercury Girls – Beverly
7. Tigercats – Rent Control
8. Wildhoney – T L (Reprisal)