Flying Nun Announces The Bats Re-Issues

Flying Nun Announces The Bats Re-Issues : 'Compiletely Bats', 'Daddy's Highway' and 'The Law of Things' Out May 27th

Flying Nun / Captured Tracks have announced the reissues of New Zealand’s own indie pop pioneers, The Bats. On May 27th the labels will release Compiletely Bats, a collection of early EP’s/singles [2xLP] (1982-90), and their first two full lengths Daddy’s Highway [1xLP] (1987) and The Law Of Things [2xLP] (1990). Along with individual vinyl releases, these albums will be released as a 3-CD (the first time on this format) compilation disc titled The Bats : Volume 1.

Formed on New Years eve 1982 in Christchurch, New Zealand by Bob Scott (The Clean), Paul Keane (Toy Love), Kaye Woodward and Malcolm Grant, the Bats’ prolific career includes eight albums and multiple tours of Europe and North America, where they shared stages with the likes of Radiohead, The Buzzcocks and Yo La Tengo along the way. Over the years, The Bats have proven that slow and steady wins the race, steadily and consistently building steam.

Curated by The Bats in conjunction with Flying Nun this re-mastered collection celebrates the career of this seminal foursome. With its unheard studio outtakes, demo tapes and their liner notes and accompanying ephemera, it provides old fans with never before heard material to admire and new fans a synopsis of Their catalogue.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.