Fist City Announce LP ‘Everything Is A Mess’

Fist City Announce New Album 'Everything Is A Mess,' Out June 23rd On Transgressive Records.

Fist City has announce the release of its sophomore LP, Everything Is A Mess, on Transgressive Records.Recorded in October 2014 with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men, Hubble, Uniform) at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studio in Chicago, the album is set to hit the shelves on June 23.

Southern Alberta quartet Fist City burst from basement studios onto the stage in 2009. The twin sibling duo of Kier and Brittany Griffiths — musical collaborators from the womb to the tomb — found ideal foils in frenetic guitarist/songwriter Evan Van Reekum and powerhouse drummer Ryan Grieve. A solid string of releases from labels such as L.A.’s Dead Beat, Victoria’s La Ti Da, and Transgressive have been coupled with tours at home and abroad.

2014 marked a transitional year, including personal changes among the band members, the reissue of their debut LP It’s 1983, Grow Up! from Transgressive Records (originally issued by L.A.’s Black Tent Press in 2012) and the recording of Fist City’s sophomore salvo Everything Is A Mess. The new album, laid down with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men, Hubble, Uniform) at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studio in Chicago.

Everything Is A Mess seizes onto the group’s influences, both musical (The Wipers, Sonic Youth, the Flying Nun roster) and spiritual (John Waters and Divine), then sends them into overdrive. Guitars chime like bells or shred like buzzsaws, while the rhythms hit harder than ever before. Lyrics are based on the band’s immediate environments in Lethbridge and Calgary, Alberta with gut-punching reactions to murderers, cops, bigots, Rob Ford, and unrequited love. From life in a small town scene to facing the consequences of violent acts, or even the experience of sleeping in the back of a speeding van, these songs paint a vivid portrait from the minds of artists and outcasts set loose on the world.

Kier Griffiths – Vox/guitar | Brittany Griffiths – Bass | Evan Van Reekum – Guitar | Ryan Grieve – Drums

Everything Is A Mess Tracklisting

1 Intro
2 Fuck Cops
3 Let’s Rip
4 Hey Little Sister
5 Bad Trip
6 Interlude I
7 Shotgun
8 Surf’s Up
9 Interlude II
10 Interlude III
11 Rats
12 The Smell
13 End of the Good Times
14 Losers Never Die
15 Interlude IV
16 The Mess
17 Interlude V

Tour Dates

10 April – Ottawa, ON – Gabba Hey

11 April – Guelph, ON – District

14 April – Sudbury, ON – Speakeasy

16 April – Winnipeg, MB – Handsome Daughter

2 May – Calgary, AB – The Palermo huge party TBA

16 May– Brighton, UK – The Great Escape

18 May– London, UK – Alberta Showcase at The Islington
22 May – Liverpool, UK – Liverpool Sound City Festival
25 May – Leeds, UK – Gold Sounds Festival

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.