Fine Times Announce Self-titled Debut Album

Vancouver duo Fine Times have announced their self-titled debut full-length album will be arriving in stores on September 18 via Light Organ Records. Matthew Moldowan and Jeffrey Josiah Powell regrouped in 2010, after their previous project had closed shop, with an idea to be as nimble as possible. And by the following year they were in Vancouver’s Warehouse Studio working with producer Howard Redekopp (Tegan and Sara/New Pornographers) on the record.

“We scrambled. It really happened all of sudden,” says Moldowan, explaining that producer Howard Redekopp opened a small window, and they jumped in. It seemed a little reckless, but the gamble paid off. Redekopp added his trademark vintage synths into the record as Moldowan and Powell confidently pounded out their pop sounds. It came to be a perfect fit.

Moldowan modestly admits he cannot stray away from a hook when he says, “I have a short attention span so if a record doesn’t catch me in the first listen or two, I probably won’t put it back on the record player.” crafted pop that stretches from Phil Spector, through Roxy Music, to Phoenix and MGMT, then Fine Times is sitting somewhere near the end of it.

Track Listing:

1. “Strays”

2. “Hey Judas”

3. “High Brow Low Times”

4. “Television Tel Aviv”

5. “And It Happened At Midnight”

6. “Lions”

7. “Calico”

8. “Hungry Siamese”

9. “Bright Lights”

10. “Into The Mechanarium”

11. “Super Controller”

Artist Websites:


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.