Fear of Men stream new track “Island”

Fear of Men stream new track "Island", and have announced new album 'Fall Forever'

UK band Fear of Men will return on June 3rd with their new release, Fall Forever, via Kanine Records. Fall Forever is the follow-up to their debut album, Loom. Fear of Men have shared the first single “Island”, which is now available to stream below. Jessica Weiss describes “Island” as “an anthem to independence.”

Weiss went into the process of writing Fall Forever with a desire to develop her own voice, rather than hiding behind metaphors and more oblique references. The result, she says, is a “very personal and genuine record exploring where my life is at the moment,” covering a time that left her “questioning feelings of belonging and structures that commonly offer support and understanding.” A vocalist who has proved herself adept at conveying a kaleidoscope of emotions in just a few lines, Weiss juxtaposes the resultant feelings of independence and self-determination with ruminations on reliance and intimacy. Indeed, she calls Fall Forever a “love album”, but one that explores “emotional extremes of closeness and distance, love and violence.”

These contrasts are well reflected in the sonic palette of the album: cold electronics meet lush, breathing textures; frenetic post-punk drums shudder against undulating guitars that recall the fluidity of shoegaze while stripping it of that genre’s crutch of thick reverb, creating a more forceful and contemporary sound. Intent on looking forward, the band utilized modern effects pedals and technology to manipulate their traditional instruments into unique forms. Such an approach can be heard on “Until You,” where frozen guitar chords warp and twist to introduce the song before erupting into a distorted wall-of-sound chorus that hits with the punch of synthesizers but bristles with a human rawness that only guitars can bring. The album was Co-produced by Tom Morris and Daniel Falvey.

JUNE 3, 2016

1. Vesta
2. Undine
3. Island
4. A Memory
5. Until You
6. Ruins
7. Trauma
8. Erase (Aubade)
9. Sane
10. Onsra


3/16 @ 12:25 PM – Spider House (SXSW ATX Pop Fest / Austin Town Hall Party)
3/16 @ 2:25 PM – Flamingo Cantina (SXSW Under The Radar Party)
3/16 @ 11:00 PM – Valhalla (SXSW Kanine Records Official Showcase)
3/18 @ 1:30 PM – Container Bar (SXSW Culture Collide Party)
3/18 @ 11:00 PM – Sidewinder (SXSW Flowerbooking Showcase)
3/19 @ TBA – Cheer Up Charlie’s (SXSW Brooklyn Vegan Party)
3/22 – New York, NY @ Rough Trade