Father John Misty Debuts “Buddy’s Rendezvous”

Father John Misty Debuts video for "Buddy's Rendezvous". The track is off his current Sub Pop release Chloë and The Next 20th Century
Father John Misty Debuts video for "Buddy's Rendezvous"

Father John Misty has shared a new video for “Buddy’s Rendezvous,” directed by filmmaker and photographer Emma Elizabeth Tillman (The History of Caves; The Wheel) and is off his 2022 stellar release Chloë and The Next 20th Century. Father John Misty kicks off his tour on June 26 in Greenfield, MA.

Emma says of the video, “‘Buddy’s Rendezvous’ is a world unto itself. It is a place out of time. My dream for the video is that it would surrender itself to the power of the song. An unnamed man (played by Craig Stark), fresh out of jail and down on his luck makes his way across the fractured landscape of Los Angeles to meet his daughter (played by Arrow DeWilde). All the while he is beset by memories of a more innocent time. Despite her hesitance, his daughter and her boyfriend (played by Gilbert Trejo) agree to meet her father and find moments of sadness and sparks of tenderness in the connection made. Although the video and the song can be considered love letters to Los Angeles, the themes are universal. Disappointments, regrets, forgiveness, tenderness, perseverance, and love. The incredible performances by Arrow, Craig, Gilbert, and David Haley all coalesce to bring this vision to life. Cinematography by James Wall on 16mm evokes the down and out feeling of LA, merging past and present. This video could not have been accomplished without the talent of producer Bria Little and creative director and editor Jonathan King.”

Also out today is Lana Del Rey’s gorgeous cover of “Buddy’s Rendezvous,” available now on all DSPs. Her interpretation of the song was previously only available as a 7” single included with the limited edition box set of Chloë and The Next 20th Century.

Father John Misty 2022 Tour Dates

Sat. Jun. 26 – Greenfield, MA – Green River Festival
Fri. Jul 08 – Des Moines, IA – 80/35 Music Festival
Sun. Jul. 31 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre w/ The Colorado Symphony *
Wed. Aug. 03 – San Diego, CA – Humphreys Concerts By The Bay * [Sold Out]
Thu. Aug. 04 – San Diego, CA – Humphreys Concerts By The Bay *
Fri. Aug. 05 – Las Vegas, NV – The Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas *
Sat. Aug. 06 – Phoenix, AZ – The Van Buren *
Mon. Aug. 08 – Oklahoma City, OK- The Criterion *
Tue. Aug. 09 – Kansas City, MO – Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland *
Thu. Aug. 11 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall *
Fri. Aug. 12 – Austin, TX – Moody Amphitheater *
Sat. Aug. 13 – New Orleans, LA – Orpheum Theater *
Sun. Aug. 14 – Dallas, TX – The Factory in Deep Ellum *
Thu. Aug. 18 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Forever Cemetery * [Sold Out]
Fri. Aug. 19 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Forever Cemetery [Sold Out]
Sat. Aug. 20 – Oakland, CA – Fox Theater *
Tue. Aug. 23 – Eugene, OR – McDonald Theatre *
Thu. Aug. 25 – Vancouver, BC – Orpheum *
Fri. Aug. 26 – Port Townsend, WA – THING Festival
Sat. Aug. 27 – Portland, OR – Pioneer Square *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Columbus, OH – KEMBA Live! *
Tue. Sep. 13 – Philadelphia, PA- The Met Philadelphia *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Louisville, KY – Bourbon & Beyond Festival
Fri. Sep. 16 – Richmond, VA – Brown’s Island *
Sat. Sep. 17 – Asheville, NC – Rabbit Rabbit *
Mon. Sep. 19 – Charleston, SC – The Riviera Theater * [Sold Out]
Tue. Sep. 20 – Washington, DC – The Anthem *
Thu. Sep. 22 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall w/ The New York Pops *
Fri. Sep. 23 – Boston, MA – Leader Bank Pavilion *
Sat. Sep. 24 – Bridgeport, CT – Sound on Sound Festival
Mon. Sep. 26 – Montreal, QC – MTELUS *
Tue. Sep. 27 – Toronto, ON – Roy Thomson Hall *
Thu. Sep. 29 – Chicago, IL – Chicago Theatre *
Fri. Sep. 30 – Saint Paul, MN – Palace Theatre *
Sat. Oct. 01 – Saint Paul, MN – Palace Theatre *
Mon. Oct. 03 – Milwaukee, WI – Riverside Theater *
Tue. Oct. 04 – Indianapolis, IN – Clowes Memorial Hall *
Thu. Oct. 06 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium *
Fri. Oct. 07 – Atlanta, GA – The Eastern *
Sat. Oct. 08 – Durham, NC – DPAC *
Sun. Nov. 06 – Sao Paolo, BR – Primavera Sound
Sat. Nov. 12 – Buenos Aires, AR – Primavera Sound
Sun. Nov. 13 – Santiago, CL – Primavera Sound
Thu. Nov. 17 – Bogotá, CO – Coliseo Live ^
Sun. Nov. 20 – Mexico City, MX – Corona Capital

* w/ Suki Waterhouse
^ w/ Arctic Monkeys

Order by Father John Misty HERE