Factory Floor Announce Debut Album On DFA

Factory Floor to release "Self Titled" debut on DFA Records, will play shows in Europe this summer

Factory Floor will be releasing their debut album, simply titled Factory Floor.Out September 10th on New York’s DFA Records, the record is a vivid snapshot of a progressive band, smashing through yet another ceiling. It’s the first album-length statement from the band, which previously released “Fall Back” and “Two Different Ways” for DFA — not to mention their early releases for Optimo Music and Blast First Petite. Leading up to the release of Factory Floor, the band will be playing select European festival dates this summer. A full list of shows can be found below.

Produced and recorded by the band in their North London warehouse space on a vintage mixing desk originally used by Dave Stewart three decades ago to record all of the Eurythmics’ early hits, Factory Floor album is a visceral trip through the band’s repertoire. The record opens with “Turn It Up,” the band’s most minimal track to date. The band is reduced to the core trio of elements on the track: mass, velocity and momentum – mixed in astonishing detail by Timothy “Q” Wiles (VCMG, Afrika Bambaataa). “Here Again” is almost (but not quite) their pop song. Gabe calls it their “Ibiza track,” while Nik claims she was channelling Michael Jackson when she wrote it. It’s hard to tell who has tongue planted firmer in cheek, but what the track does contain is cascading arpeggios, counterbalanced by bubbly synth melody lines, and plaintive vocals.

Factory Floor in its current, fully formed incarnation got together in late 2009 when guitarist/vocalist Nik Colk Void joined the dark-hearted, 21st Century rhythm section of drummer Gabe Gurnsey and synth player Dominic Butler. The trio figured that putting a demo in the post marked simply, “Stephen Morris: Macclesfield”, would be a good way to contact the Joy Division/New Order drummer. That it arrived at his house was surprising; his enthusiastic response to what he heard, less so.

I listened to the tracks “Lying” and “Wooden Box” and thought they were brilliant . . . In the tracks I could hear something which reminded me of the spirit of New Order in the early days . . . They were raw, chaotic, fantastic and different – everything I’ve ever liked in a band.” Not long afterwards they worked with Chris Carter from Throbbing Gristle and he was so impressed with them that he ended up joining their ranks for a number of international festival shows in 2011.

In the two years after the trio formed they released a number of EPs and 12”s on labels such as Blast First Petite and Optimo while all the time their live sound was shifting away from an all-out noise assault into a much more spacious and confident exploration of techno, minimal, acid and post-industrial rhythms and textures.

Festival Dates:
21 July – Lovebox Festival, UK
8 August – Way Out West, Sweden
10 August – Flow Festival, Finland
16 August – Pukkelpop, Belgium
17 August – Lowlands Festival, Netherlands
31 August – Electric Picnic, Ireland
11 Sept – Unknown Festival, Croatia

Factory Floor – Factory Floor
(DFA Records – Sept. 10th)

1. Turn It Up
2. Here Again
3. One
4. Fall Back
5. Two
6. How You Say
7. Two Different Ways
8. Three
9. Work Out
10. Breathe In


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.