Explosions In The Sky + Eluvium Form New Duo

Explosions In The Sky and Eluvium members Form New Duo "INVENTIONS" the self-titled debut album comes out this spring in Temporary Residence.


On April 1st Temporary Residence Ltd. will release the debut full length from Inventions, a new band formed by longtime friends, tourmates, and labelmates Matthew Cooper of Eluvium, and Mark T. Smith of Explosions In The Sky. The group represents somewhat of a dream duo for anyone familiar with the unparalleled emotional resonance of Cooper and Smith’s respective outlets: Eluvium has long been at the vanguard of the ever-burgeoning worlds of ambient and neoclassical, while Explosions in the Sky’s towering output has garnered them the kind of respect and success that typically eludes instrumental music.



1. Echo Tropism

2. Flood Poems

3. Entity

4. Luminous Insects

5. Peaceable Child

6. Sun Locations / Sun Coda

7. Recipient

8. Psychic Automation




Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.