“Enemies” Miss June

New Zealand quartet Miss June has announced their debut album. The full-length Bad Luck Party, will be available September 6, via Frenchkiss Records. Ahead of the albums release, Miss June have shared a video for “Enemies.” Directed by Dylan Pharazyn. He notes, “the track gets at that feeling of instability in a relationship when there’s full on confusion around who your friends are or who you are… reality runs amok. I started to imagine this full throttle dream sequence in which a young couple bash through a bizarre night. As they find new places, they encounter strangers who at first seem normal become weird and dangerous creep characters… or ENEMIES. I felt like this erratic narrative had a powerful connection with the song – fast and heavy in a super off-kilter way.”

Raised in the embers of punk rock and described as “some unholy union between Sonic Youth and Le Tigre,” the Auckland four piece harness jagged, noisy guitars filtered through the unrivalled stage presence of front-person Annabel Liddel, guitarist Jun Park, bass player Chris Marshall and drummer Tom Leggett.

Miss June’s live shows have caught the attention of acts like The Foo Fighters, Shellac, Wolf Alice, Idles and Die! Die! Die!, who have all eagerly harnessed their support on stage. The band recently made their first trip to the U.S. and played to packed rooms across New York City and in Los Angeles. The band will be back stateside in the Fall with dates to be announced soon.

Miss June
Bad Luck Party

1. Twitch
2. Best Girl
3. Two Hits
4. Anomaly
5. Orchid
6. Double Negative
7. Enemies
8. Aquarium
9. Scorpio
10. Please Waste My Time
11. Polio