Empress of Announces ‘Me’ album

Empress of has announced her new album 'Me', the full-length comes out on September 11th via Terrible records.

Today, Empress Of (a.k.a. Lorely Rodriquez) has announced the release of her debut LP titled <em>Me</em>, due for release September 11th via Terrible Records. Produced, recorded and engineered entirely by Lorely over the course of 2014, the album touches on the personal, political, and everything that falls in-between.

Today a new track titled “Kitty Kat” is available to stream. The song was inspired by her experiences of being cat called around Valle de Bravo, Mexico City, while on a solo 5-week writing retreat, and the emotions evoked by the act.

In support of <em>Me</em>, Empress Of will be coming to London to play a three night residency at Power Lunches in Dalston. This short run of shows was inspired by a similar week of shows in NYC, her 5 night residency at Elvis Guesthouse saw her joined by a unique mix of musicians including Ezra Koenig, Dev Hynes and Terrible Records label mate Le1f.

The roots of <em>Me</em> start in an empty practice space in Brooklyn, where Lorely spent many nights dancing alone next to a little spinning silver disco ball. “After touring the EP, I realized I wanted to make music that was fun to perform live,” she says. But ultimately the city put her in a less-than-inspired headspace. Her intuitive search for a more introspective and isolated writing experience led her to unexpectedly life-changing and mind-bending solo trip to Valle de Bravo, Mexico. The isolation sent her deep inside her head, to pull out everything she wanted to pour into Me. “Every lyric on the record, I could tell you exactly what I was doing when I wrote it,” Lorely explains, “I wanted to write songs that gave me this feeling of reliving moments in my life.”

On tracks, which you can preview now, “Kitty Kat” and “Water Water,” Lorely sings candidly on street harassment and water scarcity, but mostly Lorely’s lyrics are more introspective; songs of broken relationships, new ones starting, and ultimately, self-reliance. “I just need myself, need myself, to love myself, to love myself,” which she sings on another album track “Need Myself”.

Me  Tracklist:

1. Everything Is You
2. Water Water
3. Standard
4. How Do You Do It
5. To Get By
6. Kitty Kat
7. Need Myself
8. Make Up
9. Threat
10. Icon

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.