Dunes announce new album ‘Bitter Charm’

Dunes announce new album 'Bitter Charm', the full-length comes out on February 13th via Negative Space/Post Present Medium

Dunes, the Los Angeles post-punk band,  have announced their new full-length Bitter Charm out March 12th. “On the album the four piece take their whimsical pop to new extremes, working late nights in the studio with producer Alex DeGroot (Zola Jesus) experimenting with spacey synths, special effects, surreal instrumentation and focusing on meticulous production and song-writing more than ever before. Dunes’ new single “Runner” debuted today and is now available to stream below.

The band was born from the ashes of some of LA’s most beloved yet retired punk bands that emerged from The Smell, featuring former members of Finally Punk/The Carrots (Stephanie Chan, Vocals, Guitar), Mika Miko (Kate Hall, Drummer), Talbot Tagora (Mark Greshowak, Guitar, Synths) and Abe Vigoda (David Reichardt, Guitar, Bass, Synths).

Bitter Charm maps together years of song-writing and personal experiences. The making of Bitter Charm was delayed when misfortune struck guitarist, Mark Greshowak who was in a near fatal bike accident, which occurred the same day they were supposed to play with friends and fellow Smell heroes, No Age at the Eagle Rock Center for Performing Arts. For Greshowak, the traumatic event heavily influenced the album which he says represents “the process of coming to terms with all transitions in life, voluntarily or involuntarily.”

Drummer, Kate Hall completed her degree at California Institute of the Arts during the creation of Bitter Charm and feels the record would be a great “movie soundtrack or book on tape telling a story through guitars.” Bassist, David Reichardt enhanced the band sonically by enriching their sound with thoughtful chord progressions and detailed complexities. For vocalist Stephanie Chan, the theme of nostalgia resonates strongly explaining, “the album is sentimental, melancholy, joyful and moody at times.”

Bitter Charm is the band’s second release since 2012’s Noctiluca, their first LP on Dean Spunt’s (No Age) label, Post Present Medium. They are delighted to celebrate their much awaited record release show on March 12th at Los Angeles venue, Non Plus Ultra.

 1. Disappearing
2. Runner
3. Sir Lady Java
4. Meet Me In The Trees
5. Bitter Charm
6. B Side Intro
7. Moddy
8. She’s Slipping
9. Mockingbird
10. Swordsmen


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.