Dumb Numbers announces new LP

Dumb Numbers Announces Sophomore LP, Stream "Girl On The Screen"

Dumb Numbers — the project of Australian musician and filmmaker Adam Harding, who’s joined by a rotating cast of friends — has announced its sophomore LP, Dumb Numbers II, out August 19th via Joyful Noise Recordings. Currently available for pre-order, it features contributions from Lou Barlow (Dinosaur Jr./Sebadoh), Dale Crover (Melvins), David Yow (the Jesus Lizard/Scratch Acid), Murph (Dinosaur Jr.), Kevin Rutmanis (Melvins/Cows), Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten), Bobb Bruno (Best Coast), Bonnie Mercer (Grey Daturas), and Steve Patrick (Useless Children.) The VIP edition of the release comes with a bonus 7″ that features the first-ever solo song by Murph.

Where being in a band can be like a marriage, Dumb Numbers is more of an open relationship: with no definitive lineup, it’s primarily a recording project, and live performances are rare. Dumb Numbers II comes as a follow up to the group’s 2013 S/T debut (which did see the band on tour, supporting My Bloody Valentine.)

The album’s cover art (shown below) is by Malcolm Bucknall, who has only allowed his artwork to be used on three records previously: two Jesus Lizard albums and the band’s 1993 split with Nirvana. The cover of Dumb Numbers II features a Bucknall painting called “My Bohemian Rhapsody.”

Dumb Numbers II Track Listing:
1. My Mantra
2. Will You Earn A Star
3. Girl On The Screen
4. Essence — Existence
5. No-One
6. Unbury The Hatchet
7. Wonder Why
8. Sometimes There’s No Next Time