“Dreamers” by Sóley

Ask The Deep is the second full-length album from Sóley Stefánsdóttir, who writes and records as Sóley. Released in May 2015 by Morr Music, Ask The Deep finds the Icelandic multi-instrumentalist meditating on her signature dark and nocturnal themes, while building on the primarily piano-based instrumentation of her previous work.

Ask The Deep’s mid-album highlight “Dreamers” highlights Sóley’s exploration of new sonic territory, with atmospheric surges of melody waxing and waning into tension and release. Directed by Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir, the video expounds on the theme she composed for Ask The Deep’s haunting cover art. Much like Sóley’s signature sound, the video finds the artist exploring the liminal space between asleep and awake, and between dreams and nightmares.

Born in Hafnarfjörður, Iceland, Sóley was formerly a student piano and composition at the Iceland Art Academy, and a member of the band Seabear, before recording as a solo artist. She released her first EP Theater Island in 2010 and later her fantastical debut We Sink in 2011, followed by a short EP entitled Krómantík in 2014. Most recently, Morr Music released her sophomore full-length album, Ask The Deep, earlier in 2015.

Ask The Deep
Out now on Morr Music

01. Devil
02. Ævintýr
03. One Eyed Lady
04. Óhljóð
05. Halloween
06. Follow Me Down
07. Breath
08. Dreamers
09. I Will Never
10. Lost Ship

Sóley – 2015 North American Tour Dates

October 08, 2015 – Calgary, Canada @ Wine-Ohs (w/ Snorri Helgason)
October 09, 2015 – Edmonton, Canada @ UP+DT Festival
October 10, 2015 – Edmonton, Canada @ UP+DT Festival
October 17, 2015 – Norfolk, Connecticut @ Infinity Hall


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.