“Down Bad” By Tatyana

Tatyana will release her new album, It’s Over, on March 22nd 2024 via Sinderlyn (Cults, Homeshake) . Today’s announcement arrives alongside a brand new single and video, “Down Bad,” with a video directed by Andy King. Last year, Tatyana teased her return with an earlier album single “Hold My Hand” as well as previous single “Femcel Anthem.”

The video for “Down Bad,” showcasing looks from Kiko Kostadinov, features extended exposures which blur and distort the footage, creating a disorientating atmosphere that King feels captures the song’s disorienting feel: “We wanted to create a visual representation of what it’s like to be lost in your own head during the course of falling for someone. The warping, spinning and long shutter effects attempt to show what it’s like when you start to lose control of your thoughts and emotions. Losing a bit of a grip on reality. Hopefully that comes across.”

As Taytana describes it, “Down Bad” arose from its own dizzying creative process: “‘Down Bad’ went through some wildly different versions production-wise and I nearly gave up on it! Every person I showed the initial demo to loved it, but it felt off to me for ages. In the end it was this loop I made on the drum machine that ended up being the foundation of the song. The frantic arps in the chorus are my favourite part, they really reflect the emotion. I think the lyrics and message of the song are pretty self-explanatory — anyone who’s suffered from limerence or who’s fallen in love with the wrong person could relate. Being down bad for someone sucks!”

It’s Over

1. Bird of Prey
2. Hold My Hand
3. It’s Over
4. Nothing Is True, Everything Is Possible
5. Down Bad
6. Control (ft. Dave Okumu)
7. I Do Care (& That’s OK)
8. Leave Me With The Roses
9. Out Of Time
10. We’re Back

Pre-order It’s Over by Tatyana HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.