Donovan Blanc Release “Minha Menina” Video

Donovan Blanc Release the video for their single "Minha Menina" which comes off their upcoming self-titled debut on captured tracks. The LP comes out 6/24

Next week the New Jersey duo, who previously made music as Honeydrum, will release their self-titled debut as Donovan Blanc. The duo also recently released a video for their lead single “Minha Menina.

Joseph Black and Raymond Schwab spent the years of 2011-2013 as full-blown pop junkies in a group called Honeydrum. Seeking ephemeral moments of truth and self-relevance, the two spent day after day on the third floor of a brick building in a hole of a city in New Jersey, churning out what would become Honeydrum’s nine EPs. These releases stand as sonic manifestations of the two hook addicts’ pop addled brainwaves buried deep in blurry mires of fizz and fuzz.

As with all growth both physical and metaphysical, the inevitable mutation of their vision was governed by evolutionary laws beholden to no man; atop a cloud of rich vocal harmony, polished guitar arrangements, driving rhythmic momentum, angular meter and key changes, and breathy Mellotron passages, Donovan Blanc, a post-human entity began to appear. Incubated by the warm winds of spring and with a newfound focus and clarity, early versions of songs such as “Minha Menina” and “Girlfriend”, rife with brown tones and muted sunshine, served as the foundation for Donovan Blanc’s debut self-titled LP on Captured Tracks.

Donovan Blanc is the realization of a purified version of the duo’s work, fit for consumption by disciples of technicolor baroque and singer- songwriter pop music. The record’s aim isn’t to evoke nostalgia, but rather to re-contextualize the familiar and foreign to create new moments; some that are bold and exuberant, and others that are reserved and melancholic. Donovan Blanc delivers a glimpse of the lush textures and vivid colors of pop’s golden age through a modern lens.

Donovan Blanc is out June 24th.

Donovan Blanc Tracklisting
01. Girlfriend
02. Hungry a Long Time
03. Shy Boy
04. Without a Thing to Doubt
05. Is It Natural
06. Oh Donna
07. Veronica
08. Can’t Wait to Meet You
09. Minha Menina
10. When You Believed Me
11. That Summer Ago
12. Traci Won’t Wait


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.