“Doesn’t Feel Pain Like He Should” Ken Mode

KEN Mode release seventh studio album Loved on August 31st via New Damage Records. Today, the band has premiered the music video for lead track “Doesn’t Feel Pain Like He Should”.

Says guitarist/vocalist Jesse Matthewson Loved:

“This song is a not so subtle opening for our thoughts on 2018. To what degree the world will interpret parody, satire, and bleeding-heart honesty, is ultimately beyond our control. We’ve made a work, with a harsh degree of urgency, that made us feel something while dancing effortlessly within these blurred lines.”

Drawing from not only the desperate noise and industrial sonics of the 80’s and 90’s, on Loved, KEN mode has mixed in the decidedly more extreme tone and presence of death and black metal, expertly captured by producer Andrew Schneider’s (Unsane, Cave In, Daughters) sick vision of noise and girth. “We entered writing for this album with one goal in mind – to please the smile”, states Matthewson, referring to the album cover piece by the band’s long-time collaborator Randy Ortiz – see below.

Jesse continues, “We wanted to make an album that represented a thinking person’s reaction to the political/technological climate we are existing in today. We wanted to make the perfect album to put on repeat while pushing your physical limits to their maximum, if only to silence the noise that is constantly whirring around inside of your own head, even for a brief moment. We wanted tones that bash and cut, and for you to feel that desperate part of yourself clawing for a way out. And then, just when things are at their most bleak, you start to focus on what’s actually being said, and you’ll see the humour in absolutely everything that is transpiring before you. THAT is Loved.”

Ken Mode

01. Doesn’t Feel Pain Like He Should – VIDEO
02. The Illusion of Dignity
03. Feathers & Lips
04. Learning To Be Too Cold
05. Not Soulmates
06. Very Small Men
07. This is a Love Test
08. Fractures in Adults
09. No Gentle Art