DJO (Joe Keery) Debuts “Keep Your Head Up”

Musician/actor Joe Keery (Stranger Things) solo project Djo has returned with his new single “Keep Your Head Up”
Joe Keery (Stranger Things) solo project Djo returns with new single “Keep Your Head Up”

Last year, musician/actor Joe Keery (Stranger Things) introduced his solo project Djo and full-length Twenty Twenty. Today, he has returned with the song “Keep Your Head Up.” The track features spaced out psych rock influences, but also mixing in elements of funk reminiscent of Prince and George Clinton. Later today, Joe Keery will join The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne in conversation with The Talkhouse. Tune in HERE at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET. Additionally, Djo (both Keery and co-producer and co-writer Adam Thein) will participate in a Reddit AMA on r/indieheads tomorrow at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET. More info HERE.

Keery began playing music in his teens after co-opting his sister’s guitar, but it was during his college years at DePaul University in Chicago that he formed his first band and began to seriously pursue music. That band was Post Animal, the heavy psych rock outfit that went on to release a self-titled EP and two subsequent albums via Polyvinyl. They also toured with Twin Peaks, Wavves and Cage The Elephant, and played numerous festivals including Bonnaroo and Shaky Knees.

touring and festival dates were plotted for Djo throughout 2020, but with the global pandemic putting plans on hold, Keery returned to the studio to make something new. “Keep Your Head Up” is the first of much more new music to come.