Dirty Projectors Release ‘Sing The Melody’

Dirty Projectors release 'Sing The Melody'
Dirty Projectors 'Sing The Melody'

Midway through 2018, Dirty Projectors booked into New York City’s Power Station studios, where classic albums by Bruce Springsteen, David Bowie, and Bob Dylan were created, to record road-tested live arrangements of songs they’d been performing on tour throughout the year. The result of those sessions is Sing The Melody, a new, live in-studio album, now available via Domino Records and streaming services.

As the next installment of the Domino Documents series, it captures Dirty Projectors at a peak in their touring powers, and the band’s current live iteration of Felicia Douglass (vocals, percussion, keys), Kristin Slipp (vocals, keys), Maia Friedman (vocals, guitar, percussion), Nat Baldwin (bass), Mike Johnson (drums) and founder David Longstreth (vocals, guitar).

Sing The Melody features a number of songs from the band’s most recent album, 2018’s Lamp Lit Prose, with thrilling new vocal arrangements, and a rendition of “Cool Your Heart” from their 2017 self-titled release.

Also included is a medley that has been a highlight of the band’s live performances: a cover of Rihanna, Kanye West, and Paul McCartney’s “FourFiveSeconds”, which Longstreth co-wrote, into a version of “Knotty Pine”, a rare fan favorite Longstreth co-wrote with David Byrne during Dirty Projectors’ Bitte Orca period in 2009.

Alongside the release, Dirty Projectors have shared a new video for “FourFiveSeconds”/ “Knotty Pine”, featuring archival footage shot by Ebru Yildiz during the Power Station sessions, and edited by Clayton McCracken.

Dirty Projectors
Sing The Melody

1. Right Now
2. What Is The Time
3. That’s A Lifestyle
4. I Feel Energy
5. Cool Your Heart
6. FourFiveSeconds
7. Knotty Pine
8. Break-Thru