Dinosaur Jr. Release Video For “Take It Back”

Dinosaur Jr. Release Video For “Take It Back.” The track is off the trio's forthcoming release Sweep It Into Space, available April 23
Dinosaur Jr. “Take It Back”

Dinosaur Jr. have shared a new video for “Take It Back.” The single which follows “Garden” and “I Ran Away.” “Take It Back.” The video, directed by Callum Scott-Dyson, is made of stop-motion animation and colorful collaged images. Additionally, today the band has announced their special guests for Camp Fuzz II, their beloved fantasy camp in Big Indian, NY, which happens July 27 – 30. This year, J, Lou, and Murph are thrilled to welcome actor and writer Michael Imperioli performing a live reading from his critically acclaimed rock and roll novel “The Perfume Burned His Eyes”, SNL alum Tim Meadows hosting a stage banter workshop, and performance from punk legends Negative Approach. Dinosaur Jr.’s forthcoming release Sweep It Into Space comes out on April 23 via Jagjaguwar

Director Callum Scott-Dyson on the video:

“really wanted to use the creature on the front of the album sleeve for Sweep It Into Space as an inspiration and springboard for its own little adventure, exploring some simple notions of creation, dependence, coming of age and searching for another like yourself. I wanted to mix those themes with my style of stop motion animation, everything being very DIY and handmade, using any materials I could get my hands on to bring the idea to life and give it a surreal and otherworldly feel. I’ve always been a really big fan of Dinosaur Jr, so I was working extra hard to do something that could add to such an awesome track and sit alongside it.”

Sweep It Into Space was recorded, at Amherst’s Biquiteen. The sessions began in the late Autumn of 2019 and the only extra musician used this time was Kurt Vile, who co-produced the album. After recording with Kurt got disrupted, J Mascis took the reins on the rest of production.

This May, Dinosaur Jr. will play two socially distanced shows in the Northwest. Following, they’ll host Camp Fuzz II and then kick off a North American tour later this year. Tickets for all dates are on sale here. Additionally, to celebrate the release of the album, Dinosaur Jr. will play a livestream performance from the Sinclair in Boston, MA on May 1st at 9pm EST.

Dinosaur Jr.
Tour Dates

Sat. May 22 – Swanzey, NH @ Cheshire Fairgrounds – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Sun. May 23 – New Haven @ CT Westville Music Bowl – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Tue. July 27 – Fri. July 30 – Big Indian, NY @ Camp Fuzz
Tue. Sept. 7 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre
Thu. Sept. 9 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Fri. Sept. 10 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Venue TBA
Sat. Sept. 11 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Mon. Sept. 13 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
Tue. Sept. 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Sept. 16 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Mon. Sept. 20 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Tue. Sept. 21 – Kansas City, MO @ Truman
Thu. Sept. 23 – Austin, TX @ Moody Theater @ ACL Live
Fri. Sept. 24 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 25 – Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Mon. Sept. 27 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Tue. Sept. 28 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bluebird
Thu. Sept. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Athenaeum Theatre
Fri. Oct. 1 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora
Sat. Oct. 2 – Ithaca, NY @ State Theatre
Fri. Nov. 12 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Nov. 13 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Mon. Nov. 15 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Tue. Nov. 16 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Nov. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Fri. Nov. 19 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Nov. 26 – Northampton, MA @ Academy of Music
Sat. Nov. 27 – Boston, MA @ House Of Blues
Thu. Feb. 3 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy’s and Harriets
Fri. Feb. 4 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Feb. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
Mon. Feb. 7 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory Music Hall
Tue. Feb. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Thu. Feb. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox at Market
Fri. Feb. 11 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Sat. Feb. 12 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. Feb. 15 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Wed. Feb. 16 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Thu. Feb. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Sat. Feb. 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sun. Feb. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Tue. Feb. 22 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park
Wed. Feb. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Feb. 25 – Albuquerque, NM @ El Rey Theatre
Sat. Feb. 26 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre