Diagrams Announce North American Debut LP


Diagrams, aka songwriter/producer Sam Genders, will release their sophomore full-length Chromatics, in North America, March 10, 2015 on Full Time Hobby (January 19 in UK/Europe). The follow up to 2012’s Black Light, will be Diagrams first to arrive in North America.You can now watch the video for “Phantom Power”, directed by Persistent Peril below

Having upped sticks from his London lodgings and settled in Sheffield with a new lease of life and wife, fresh pastures and friendships are what form the heart of Chromatics. Equally drawing inspiration from the writing on relationships by David Schnarch, Ester Perel and the book Division Street by Sheffield poet Helen Mort, whilst spending time in his own home studio for the first time, it’s without doubt that the Steel City provided the ideal backdrop for Genders to write whenever the inspiration came.

Of Chromatics, Genders said, “Relationships are a constant thread, in all their frustrating, exciting, mundane, beautiful, wonderful, sexy, scary glory. And there’s lots of hope in the songs. They shouldn’t be taken too literally mind you… in my head Chromatics is life in Technicolor; with all its ups and downs.”

Genders would be the first to call Diagrams, a collaborative process. Once again featuring a rolling cast of inspirational musicians the album includes vocals from, amongst friends and family members, The Smoke Fairies, whilst the skilled brass and string arrangements come courtesy of Danyal Dhondy and Sam Ewens. “London’s greatest” drummers Karl Penney, and cacophony drummer Fletcher Adams provide the beats, whilst live band members Emma Black and Ben Malitskie lend their expertise of baritone saxophone and viola. “Brain” meanwhile, was co-written with long-time friend and collaborator Matt McKenzie and features an in utero recording of his son James’ heartbeat. Yet it’s the partnership with producer Leo Abrahams (Wild Beasts/David Byrne/Brian Eno/Jon Hopkins/Marianne Faithful et al) that has truly brought Diagrams to life. After a long search, Abrahams was picked to piece all parts together and as a result Genders found himself writing songs that worked across a variety of production styles.

Chromatics track listing:

01. Phantom Power
02. Gentle Morning Song
03. Desolation
04. Chromatics
05. You Can Talk To Me
06. Shapes
07. Dirty Broken Bliss
08. Serpent
09. The Light And The Noise
10. Brain
11. Just A Hair’s Breadth

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.