Devon Williams announces LP for Slumberland

Devon Williams announces new LP for Slumberland, Gilding The Lily, due out June 3rd.


Following up two albums (2008’s Carefree and 2011’s Euphoria), Slumberland and Los Angeles’ Devon Williams have announced Gilding The Lily. Williams’ shimmering pop combines his broad musical tastes with his unique song-writing and arranging skill.

Devon started recording Gilding The Lily with long-time associate Jorge Elbrecht (Lansing-Dreiden, Violens, Ariel Pink) immediately after completing Euphoria, and over the intervening two years the songs steadily evolved, mirroring changes in Williams’ life that include marriage and multiple intercontinental relocations.

From album opener “Deep In The Back of Your Mind” through first single “Flowers” and the lushly romantic “Will You Let Go Of My Heart?,” Williams has honed his trademark blend of power-pop, orchestrated soft-rock and layered, melodic jangle-pop to a perfect edge.

The aforementioned single “Flowers” is a masterpiece of orchestral texture, with rolling drums, chorused guitars and swelling synths backing a tune that hearkens back to the most delicate 60s soft-pop  – while sounding totally of-the-minute. “Puzzle” is pure power-pop heaven, a great contrast to the dreamy “Rabbit Hole” and closer “Gilding The Lily.”



Devon Williams
Gilding the Lily
Slumberland Records
Release Date: June 3, 2014

1. Deep In The Back Of Your Mind
2. Games
3. All I Have To Do
4. Pendulum
5. Flowers
6. Around In A Maze
7. Puzzle
8. Rabbit Hole
9. Will You Let Go Of My Heart?
10. Lost My Concentration
11. Gilding The Lily


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.